A Few Game Series That I Just Can’t Get Into

First off I’d like to thank everyone, I’ve reached over 100 views in the few weeks I’ve had the blog, and 20 followers. That means a lot, thank you all.

This topic came up last night when I was playing a game, I was thinking to myself. Man this series is so popular, but I can’t really see why. Now don’t get me wrong, I understand not everyone likes the same stuff. Not every game is made for each person. I just thought it’d be nice to share a few series that I can’t really get into, even though they all have a good following.

1. Fallout

fallout3_3_lg

First off is Fallout, the series has been around for awhile now, I have given them all a try here and there. The funny thing is I love RPG’s but this series isn’t something I really enjoy. The bad thing is, no matter how hard I try, I can’t figure out why. I don’t hate the series, in fact I know I’m missing out on something good. Can’t really say much more, hopefully one day I will find myself enjoying it.

2. Bioshock

bioshock_2_2010_38

Bioshock is a love/hate kind of relationship, in a lot of ways I love it, others I hate it. I should say I haven’t played Infinite yet. The first Bioshock released, and I skipped it. I actually thought it looked sub-par, then everyone was talking about how good it was. So I ended up giving it a shot, I had to, I needed to see if all the talk was true.

I bought it, finished it, I was left with a feeling of it being good, but that’s it, just good. I didn’t like the story, to be honest I can’t even remember that much about it. But I did enjoy the setting, the mood the game gave me, and the fun it gave me for a short while.

The bad thing is I ran into the same problems with Bioshock 2, which seemed like it was more repetitive than the first. I must also add, before I finished both games, I had to force myself to finish them.

3. Dead Rising

dead_rising

Dead Rising was a game I got excited for when I first hear about it, I love zombies, so I’m going to love this. Wrong, I didn’t enjoy it. The original game I never even finished, I couldn’t bring myself to it. For the most part everything felt awkward as far as the controls goes. The second one came out and I passed it up, until it was free on Xbox Live.

I decided why it since it’s free, I enjoyed it more than the first one, even completed the whole thing. Yet, all the way through it, I was still trying to find the hype surrounding it. And I couldn’t, maybe I never will either, who knows. The third installment is out, but I haven’t played it yet.

I understand the big draw to this game for some, is simply killing zombie after zombie in a lot of ways. That is fun for a little bit, after a few hours though, I find it to be boring.

4. Saints Row

Saints-Row-The-Third-XBOX-360

Saint Row is the last series on the list, and again it’s got a good following. I’ve played the first three so far, and as of now I’m done with the series. First looking at it, it looks like a lot of fun, but I find it bland and boring. I first got excited for it, simply because I enjoy open world games, especially with the gangster feel to it.

I do love the GTA series, but I’m no fanboy, I see a lot of fans of both series trashing each other. GTA is better, no Saints Row is better. I ain’t that way because it doesn’t make any sense to me. Saints Row defiantly has a lot of potential to me though, and could be a huge hit, bigger than what it is.

My main problem with the game is I feel that it try’s way to hard to be fun, and act cool. So much so it comes off as dumb to me. IV the latest game, seems to take that even further, but I can see the appeal that it gives.

Again with any of these games/series I ain’t trashing them, just sharing my opinion. Everyone has series like that, I love GTA, MGS, Halo, and a ton of other series plenty of people don’t really enjoy at all. But I hope you all enjoy the post. And again thanks everyone for the views and follows.

About crazysnake513

I'm currently 24, I love video games, and animation. I also love to sketch, and write poetry. I plan to maybe start college soon for animation, if all goes well. In the mean time, I'm working on my own animation project.
This entry was posted in Gaming and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Few Game Series That I Just Can’t Get Into

  1. Red Metal says:

    I haven’t played Bioshock 2, but I heard it was pretty much just a token sequel, so it’s not terribly surprising that it ultimately got expunged from the series.

    I’ve made it a point that you should never be afraid to hold a contrarian, yet perfectly valid opinion. Sometimes, you just can’t make that supposed masterwork click no matter how hard you try and I think more people need to accept this. For me, I would say Thief is an example of a series that I just couldn’t get into. I found scouring every inch of the map for valuables more annoying than fun. As far as stealth games go, I prefer the Metal Gear series.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bioshock 2 is in no way a horrible game, it just didn’t do anything new really, to put itself out there. I think the biggest problem was having another developer take over. To me it didn’t seem like they had a solid idea to take off with. So instead we got a sequel that in itself that was the same, only cutting the interesting parts out.

      As far as opinion on things go, I have much respect for the Fallout series, and what it has been able to accomplish. Yet, I just can’t get into it, like you and Thief, I love it. I understand not everyone can enjoy the same things I do though, that’s what makes us great and unique as humans. I love the Metal Gear series as well, but I understand the ones who don’t.

      Like

  2. I’m looking forward to playing Fallout, although seeing as it’s been in my gaming backlog instead of in my stack of finished games, maybe hasn’t been clicking with me in the right way either. As for Bioshock, I sold that game pretty quick. The third game looks pretty, and the 1st game had its moments (I didn’t see many of them), but it just wasn’t the right game for me.

    By the way, I like zombies too. I think almost everyone likes zombies. I’m actually writing a book about zombies. I’ll let you know when I get around to finishing it, and you (and anyone else who networks here) can download it during the free period.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fallout is a great series, just one I never could get into lol. My biggest problem is it feels like an empty MMO, which I find annoying. As far as Bioshock goes, this post is old, and since then I’ve been able to play the third one. Shockingly, it blows the first two away. I actually found that I loved it in the end lol.

      A book about zombies will be nice, I’m always up for reading. I’ll be more than happy to check it out when you’re done with it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

