3D Modeling/Animation Resources

Since I started this blog for animation, I thought I’d share a few programs, that I enjoy. The best part about everything I’m going to talk about is free, and some are open source as well. I’m sure a lot of people know about most of them, but I’m doing this for the ones who don’t. If one person comes along and finds informative information, that is useful, then I have accomplished something.

Blender

splash_271

When talking about animation software, a lot of people will bring up a ton of different programs. Industry standard programs like Maya are great to use, but its expensive, way up there, around 5,000, I think. This is where Blender comes in, and it is one great beast.

I wouldn’t say it is as good as Maya, but it’s got a hidden potential, that has yet to be shown. I personally like using it over Maya myself, for a lot of different things. The greatest thing about Blender to me, is it’s community it has. Everyone is always willing to help out, and answer questions one may need.

Blender itself has basically all the tools ones needs to start off with. I actually know a lot of people who use Blender for about everything they do, except for a few things. I highly recommend Blender if your wanting to learn, or just mess around as a hobby with Animation or Modeling. You don’t even have to do Animation, in one of my last post I showed some previous work with still pictures done in Blender. A side note is Blender also has a Game Engine, but I have never messed around with it.

I would show some 2D animation stuff, but I have no experience with any of them programs. But I will list two of them to check out if you want to. I hear people talk about both of them a lot, they are free and open source as well.

Pencil

Synfig

If anyone has used these, or end up checking them out. I’d like to hear what you think about them.

Sculptris

Sculptris_alpha_5

Sculptris is a sculpting program, which is very useful for creating characters, animals, creatures, anything in that nature. If your going to go with Blender, you must know that you can sculpt within it already. And it is capable of nearly everything Sculptris is, if not more really. 

I tend to use Sculptris more, or at least to start off a model. As good as Blender is with sculpting, I just don’t like it nearly as much. Also Sculptris may be better for some, in regards of it being easier to use if just starting off. If you are just wanting to mess around and create characters are creatures, you may just want to check out Sculptris, since it’s main focus is purley on sculpting. 

The last two I ain’t really going to go into much detail with them, because they are huge programs I hear about all the time.

Gimp

I use Gimp for a lot of things, mainly for seemless textures. But it can be used for so much more, and doesn’t need to be used for/with Blender at all. Some argue its a good alternative to Photoshop, while others want. Still worth checking out.

Inkscape

Inkscape is pretty well known as well, I use it with Blender with certain things. I also like using it to mess around and create logos and such, that never see the light of day.

Just a few little things for everyone to check out, I use them a lot for certain things. They are very good if your just starting out learning. And simply the sky is the limit, don’t let money hold you back, just go for it.

 

 

 

About crazysnake513

I'm currently 24, I love video games, and animation. I also love to sketch, and write poetry. I plan to maybe start college soon for animation, if all goes well. In the mean time, I'm working on my own animation project.
This entry was posted in Animation and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 3D Modeling/Animation Resources

  1. sentrymann says:

    I did NOT know about Sculptris! Can’t believe I’ve been tinkering around in the industry this long and haven’t noticed it. Can’t wait to try it out.

    Like

Leave a Reply

