Favorite RPG Games

As I continue to work on my project, and running into trouble here and there. I thought it would be nice to share my view on more games. I’ve mentioned before that I loved Survival Horror games, but nothing much more than that. I have a huge soft spot for RPG games, and have since I played my first one (Final Fantasy 7). So here are my top 5 Role Playing Games.

5. Illusion of Gaia

top-100-rpgs_illusion-of-gaiaIllusion of Gaia was an old one, I found, and played around 2002, for the SNES. I stated that I got into RPG games with FF7, so anything before it was out for me. And I know I have ended up missing plenty of great games. With Illusion here, I found the magic that I needed to see what I had missed out on.

It was honestly kind of hard going back and playing something like this, after playing so many others that felt better in many ways. But while doing so, I couldn’t put the game down, and played it non stop day in day out, until I completed it. I even went back several times to experience it.

It’s kind of sad this game isn’t known by more gamers out there. I’ve personally never heard anyone talk about, and it’s easy to see why considering all the other RPGs, of the time.

4. Dragon Age: Origins

20091002011541!RedDragonwithlogoWords really can’t describe how I feel about Origins, I love it. Maybe much more than I should, I can’t help myself either. I got this on day one, because it, at the time looked good. And it was, I played it, and enjoyed it, my problem was I rushed through it. The second play through, I eventually discovered everything in which I possibly could.

I enjoyed the story very much, a long with the setting, the characters are all great. I was really surprised with this one, the game is a must play. The amount of hours I’ve spent with this game, is just crazy, now you will probably hear more about games like Fallout 3 or Skyrim, but for me, Dragon Age is where its at.

3. Mass Effect 2

1845942-mass_effect2This series has always put me in a tough spot, I love all three games. Yes, even ME3, with its ending, you know I actually love the ending to it. (I’m sure I will get hate over that lol) But ultimately ME2 is the one I love the most, this is another one I’ve played through so many time, doing everything I possibly can.

One thing that sets itself apart, is the gameplay. I usually don’t favor any RPG game that uses guns, or even feels like a third person shooter. Gameplay setting aside, what’s gotten me sucked in this genre of games over the years, is the story. Anyone who’s played the series, knows Mass Effect brings that to the table, and very good.

Heart felt moments, that drive emotion into the player is great, now compare that with decisions you get to make. I actually wish more games would adopt that, it just makes things better. I’d also love to see BioWare expand, and make that system better.

2. Kingdom Hearts

Promotional_Artwork_KHWhat can one say about Kingdom Hearts? It’s simply great, fun, interesting, and is able to capture the hearts of so many people. I for one love this series so much, it felt special the first time I played it. Now what makes Kingdom Hearts so special and unique, is what its able to pull off.

You have original characters, levels, mashed into Disney characters, and worlds, with Final Fantasy characters. For someone like me who grew up with Disney Animation, and someone who fell in love with Final Fantasy, this game is a must play. I see it very hard for anyone like me not to like this series, if not you can’t deny it’s charm at least.

This is a well crafted series, that captures a story, in a breathtaking way. I can’t wait for the third one to come out,

1. Final Fantasy X

Ffx-yuna-bigYes, I can hear it all ready, What, you can’t be serious right? Yep, I sure am, I may get some flack, but that’s OK. I know a lot of people regard FF7 as the best Final Fantasy. It is great, but honestly I even choose 8 & 9 over 7, but that’s my opinion. FFX came around the time, that I was becoming a serious gamer.

One of the funny things, is the characters, I enjoy all of them. Tidus, is by far considered by many, to ruin the game. Even considered to be one of the most horrible characters, in any game. But I enjoyed him, I liked his character, I couldn’t imagine a different Tidus. For one reason, Yuna to me brings the best out of him.

This game also showed me, that I could play a game, and feel happiness, sadness, anger, and so many emotions. I was so hooked the first time I played it. I was sad by the ending, I wished that Sin would have gotten away, so I could continue my adventure. Sadly though all things must come to an end, and it did, I wish X-2 would have been different, or better than what it was.

FFX has been my favorite RPG, since it came out, and it will likely stay that way. I still find myself at times pulling out my trusty PS2, and starting my adventure all over again.

I hope you all enjoyed this list, I could go on and on with different games that I love. But this is my top 5, it hasn’t got Fable, Elder Scrolls, and many others in it. But just a little list of things that mean a lot to me, I’d like to hear what your favorites are.

 

About crazysnake513

I'm currently 24, I love video games, and animation. I also love to sketch, and write poetry. I plan to maybe start college soon for animation, if all goes well. In the mean time, I'm working on my own animation project.
This entry was posted in Gaming and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Favorite RPG Games

  1. Aether says:

    Final Fantasy X is definitely one of the best games in the series, and is certainly much, much better than most give it credit for. Can’t say it’s my favorite, but I can appreciate where you’re coming from.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, I know a ton of people who would pick 7-9 as their favorite. Or even below that. And that’s really fine, that to me, is what makes us gamers great, in our opinions. Thanks for reading.

      Like

  2. Red Metal says:

    I’ve only played the first six Final Fantasy games, but I really enjoyed the fifth and sixth installments.

    I’m not sure if I could put them in any particular order, but my favorite RPGs include: Persona 4, Planescape: Torment, Earthbound, Chrono Trigger, and Pokémon Black/White 2 among others.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Final Fantasy has given me a lot of joy over the years, including both 5th and 6th installments. You also have a nice list of games to add, I’ve played them all except for the Pokemon one. I haven’t really had a handheld device since the GB color, so the last Pokemon game I played was Red.

      Like

  3. My favorite RPG of all time: Final Fantasy 7! It’s the only game in my backlog goal that I’ve already beat that I plan on beating again just for the sake of reliving the experience.

    Yup, I’m one of those. BUT, Final Fantasy X is one of my favorites, too. It was one of the few games I beat while growing up. The voice acting was new at the time, and it was a really great game to play. I think I might want to play X again, except I don’t like those temple puzzles. They just seemed to drag the game down, in my opinion.

    Final Fantasy VIII and IX are both in my wish-list. I want desperately to add them to my game library! Also, Kingdom Hearts is in my backlog, as well as KH2

    Like

  4. I have nothing but respect for FF7 and what its been able to accomplish. I just love FFX more, its just the one in the series that really pulled me. Mainly due to its voice acting, which made the game seem way more emotional.

    VIII & IX are both great as well, excellent experiences. The same can be said about Kingdom Hearts 1 & 2, which also have grabbed me by enjoyment, and emotions.

    Like

Leave a Reply

