When Gaming Meets Hollywood

Anyone who has been playing games for awhile, has eventually seen or heard of a game turning into a movie. For a lot of gamers, their favorite series has seen the transition into a movie. Others have got cancelled, with a movie release never seeing the light of day. I’ve seen quite a few of my favorite series turned into a movie, or series of movies. The question I ask is do you like them?

Me personally, according to what movie it is, I do in fact enjoy them. I find entertainment in the movie, and that’s simply what it was made for. A problem lies here though, it may be entertainment, but we have to remember, this is a game to film adaptation. And in that sense, most of the movies are downright horrible, to almost being the worst thing created.

I haven’t seen anyone talk about how they just loved Doom. The same goes for a slew of many other horrible movies that laid that foundation, and others that came after it. You got to take a look at the series being made, all are huge gaming series. The main attraction, is of course gamers. Why waste time, and money making a movie if it’s not going to be good?

I’ve heard the excuse before, well the movie producers and such are trying to appeal to a bigger audience. When has this ever really happened? I can maybe see a case with Resident Evil, people are crazy about zombies. But other games, people are always asking. Whats going on? I don’t understand this? To be honest, most of the time I’m in the same boat. My mom keep questioning me, when she was watching Max Payne. Yet I had no clear answer for her, and trying to describe the game, confused her even more.

Yet movie after movie comes out, only having bits and pieces of the game included into it. I know it’s a lost cause to even rant about this. I’m currently looking at a list of movies to be in development of games. Such titles include:

  • Heavenly Sword
  • Assassins Creed
  • Metal Gear Solid
  • Mass Effect
  • Deus Ex: Human Revolution
  • Splinter Cell
  • The Last of Us
  • Minecraft

And many more, seriously how are you going to watch a featured film about Minecraft. My mind is simply blown, I ain’t a big movie goer anyway. Surprising right? I do watch a lot of animation/anime, but as far as movies go, not so much. I think a lot of games have surpassed movies in telling a great story. I get more enjoyment and time out of it, thus making me not spend much time with a movie anymore.

Will these movies ever change though? Not surprising we see the same thing most of the time, when a movie crosses over to a game. I’m not saying all of these are junk, I know people find enjoyment out of them. But they’re is no need to keep making them like they have. I believe you can always raise the bar with anything, I would love to see this happen. What are your thoughts on this? Any movies that you really enjoy?

About crazysnake513

I'm currently 24, I love video games, and animation. I also love to sketch, and write poetry. I plan to maybe start college soon for animation, if all goes well. In the mean time, I'm working on my own animation project.
This entry was posted in Gaming and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to When Gaming Meets Hollywood

  1. turnipgaming says:

    I fangirl so hard over a good video game turned movie and vice versa. Sometimes im watching a movie and i can visualize how this would turn into a great game.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Aether says:

    I’ve still got a soft spot for the first Mortal Kombat movie. It really thrilled me as a kid, and pulling it out once in a while now, it’s actually not that bad. Certainly a lot better than most of the other game-based movies that came out at the time.

    Like

  3. Minecraft… No, it would be too gimmicky the way the Lego movie is/was. There’s always been an issue with gaming/movie crossovers, (Super Mario Bros anyone?).

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Just as with most mediums, it’s about finding a niche. Producers might not look at a video game and think that it’s going to top the box office, but they might see a niche that can make some money.

    With as far as video games have come, I don’t see a reason to have movie adaptations. The game tells the story just as good as a movie could, and better. I’m not against movie/TV adaptation, though. I would definitely watch a movie about The Legend of Zelda, and plan on watching the TV show when they come out with it (if it’s actually happening). I like to see different interpretations. That’s the same reason I might watch a remake of an older movie. I want to see it in a new way.

    When the Super Mario Brother movie first came out, I was a little kid. I was a huge mark for that movie, and forgave it every single time it let me down. “Mario and Luigi sure don’t look like I thought they would, and they don’t look like brothers, but hey, Mario and Luigi, right? Look, there’s some red on his shirt, because he’s Mario!” “Wow, Bowser…is human in the movie. ALRIGHT!” “Look, it’s Yoshi! And he.. is just a tiny, boring, non-cute version of himself. I hope they make him into an action figure!” Now, that movie is a cult classic, and it absolutely should be. The script changed so much, that the actors gave up learning their lines and stayed drunk throughout must of production.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The case for the Super Mario Brothers is a special one, I enjoyed it. I’ve also got games I’d love to see turned into a movie or show, Metal Gear Solid would fit great here.

      I just wish more work from producers would go into trying to make it better, at least for us true fans of whatever series.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I agree about Metal Gear Solid. It would probably make an interesting movie. I would also watch the Assassin’s Creed movie. I wanted the original Final Fantasy movie to be good, but it let me down. The FF7 Advent Children movie was better, though. I think they were trying to compensate for the confused public response to the first FF movie.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

