Thoughts on Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning

Kingdoms_of_Amalur_Reckoning_coverOver the past week, I’ve been spending every bit of free time with this game, Kingdoms of Amalur. It was a first time play, I passed it up when it first game out. It came out early in 2012, I was more worried about the games that had just came out around Christmas. Then the bigger releases set for 2012, like Mass Effect 3, Max Payne 3, Far Cry 3, and Halo 4.

It didn’t really help that reviews were coming out, and they were all over the place. Some good, some not, the fans were giving mixed reactions. I honestly don’t even know why I bother with reviews, I hate them. I don’t think a score should be given, it makes it especially hard for a new IP, at times.

I finally decided though to get this game, give it a try, it deserved that much. I needed a new RPG anyway. I booted the game up, played for the first few hours, I was bored, I had to make myself keep playing at first.

Kingdoms-of-Amalur-Reckoning-Walkthrough-Part-20-Galafor1The combat though is extremely fun, if not for that I probably would have stopped playing. I continued my journey, spreading my skills across, multiple paths. Looking back I’m glad I keep going, the game seemed to start off really slow, but picked up, and turned into a juggernaut. I don’t think I’ve ever had as much fun with combat in any other RPG, as this one.

The world is simply beautiful and huge as well, I enjoyed all the places the game took me. I found myself stopping many times, to just look at something. I did notice textures popping in and out at times, and some taking a little longer to load. Which was annoying at first, I noticed it less as times went on.

I liked the enemies within the game, a lot of the creatures were really nice to look at once I killed them lol. I did find though, many of them had annoying attacks, which was hard to   avoid when I would get surrounded.

The main quest or story took me around 15 hours to finish, that was without many side quest, or faction quest. And would have probably taken less, if not for running off to fight when I didn’t need to. The side quest throughout the game is plenty, I found where ever I went a new side quest could be found.

I’ve heard Kingdoms of Amalur compared to games like Skyrim, World of Warcraft, and the Fable series. I really wouldn’t go that far, I can see the similarities, but that’s it. I think this game could stand on its own feet, and does it really well. Even with a doomed developer, that isn’t here anymore.

I can only hope it gets picked back up, and keeps going, it would be a shame to see nothing more come of this world. I would also add that, this is the first console RPG, or any RPG for that matter that I wouldn’t mind seeing turned into an MMO. First single player I’ve ever played that felt like an MMO, only without all the other players.

In the end I can’t see why Kingdoms of Amalur didn’t become more popular than it did. I’ve read reviews, stating that game had problems, I myself didn’t run into many. The biggest being texture popping. It’s simply not fair, its very playable, I never ran into freezing, lockups, getting stuck in the world, NPC’s getting lost, or stuck.

Now compare all that to Skyrim, I’m not dissing the Elder Scrolls series. But with each game, I have ran into numerous problems. We will save that for another topic, maybe my next one.

I highly recommend Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning, you will lost yourself in a world for hours each time you set down to play it. I myself, am going to go at a second play, soon, for the main story, and side quest.

About crazysnake513

I'm currently 24, I love video games, and animation. I also love to sketch, and write poetry. I plan to maybe start college soon for animation, if all goes well. In the mean time, I'm working on my own animation project.
This entry was posted in Gaming and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thoughts on Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning

  1. I’m glad you posted this. Although it still doesn’t seem like a game I want to invest in at this time, I might pick it up at a later date. I was actually looking at this game three days ago, and thinking about getting it. I decided that my backlog of video games was already big enough.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Its a good game, a lot better than I thought it would be. I picked it up on a sale that was going on, and glad I did. It may be a good game later on to pick up like you said, just a all around fun game.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

