We Need An Increase of Survival Horror

Mystery_House_CoverI think it’s interesting to know Adventure Games, were used to try and creep players out. Starting with Mystery House, back in 1980. A slew of other games like it came out, The Count, Haunted House, Sweet Home. Most of it was before our time, or either forgotten, or never heard of.

But scary? Maybe, I couldn’t really tell you. In this point in time, most likely not, because gamers have been privileged to visualize, and experience far worse. For my personal experience, which was a great one, happened in 1996. I had just turned 6, yep I was playing horrible things at the time.

1996 gamers got it’s first taste of something that was dubbed “Survival Horror” by Capcom. Resident Evil, (easily one of my favorite series) brought something new, terrifying, and just plain crazy. I think the majority that played it back in that time would agree, it was scary, but also exciting.

Resident-evil-1A few years later I got an even bigger surprise, as well as everyone else. In 1999 we all got Silent Hill, another wonderful series. Things went from there, a ton of other survival horror games came out. Some failed, others succeeded, it was good for the most part, I loved every bit of it.

In fact a lot of people will say or consider from 1996 to the early 2000’s to be the golden age of Survival horror. With series and games like:

  • Resident Evil
  • Silent Hill
  • Clock Tower
  • Fatal Frame
  • Siren

84951-siren_leadinEverything was great, fans of the genera, was getting more than we’d hoped for. And plenty of titles to go through, all bringing something different than what the last one did, or was trying to. Some had great story’s with really interesting characters, while other brought a more creepy atmosphere, sound and music.

I don’t think anyone who started with the genera was really complaining much. But then things started to change, which was unwelcome in my book. 2005 started it all, Resident Evil 4 was released. Capcom was now trying to “Redefine” Survival Horror, or at least tried. Now I loved RE4, it’s actually one of my favorite games.

At the time the changes seemed great, and it was nice to play in a different way. What followed wasn’t so great. Silent Hill followed, as well as many other games, now we have “Action Horror”. It’s not a bad thing, we’ve seen great series like Dead Space pop up, and become a great hit.

In reality I want, and I think gaming needs Survival Horror back. Having a Survival Horror game here then an Action Horror there, wouldn’t be so bad. I haven’t loved a Resident Evil since 4, and a Silent Hill since 3. Both series have declined to a point, that is honestly laughable. RE6 was so messed up I didn’t know what to think, although Leon’s story did bring back memories here and there.

Recently we have seen some nice little gems like Amnesia, Outlast, and others that do more than guns blazing. I want something to scare me, like Silent Hill. I can’t be scared, when I got a million health packs, 50 guns, and nukes for bullets. Lol I may exaggerating that a little, but that’s how I feel, when I play Dead Space or Left 4 Dead.

Horror can survive, with an action and survival setting. I think developers would be surprised, if they actually tried. Think of the original Resident Evil or Silent Hill just being announced to come out this winter for PC, Xbox One, and PS4. Now imagine the games, playing the same, just looking better. Did that put a smile on your face? It did mine.

I am excited though to see how The Evil Within does, Shinji Mikami promises to bring it back to Survival Horror roots (Lets hope others follow). What do you all think? Are you happy with the Horror Games we see now? Or would you like to see some good ol Survival Horror like we once known?

About crazysnake513

I'm currently 24, I love video games, and animation. I also love to sketch, and write poetry. I plan to maybe start college soon for animation, if all goes well. In the mean time, I'm working on my own animation project.
This entry was posted in Gaming and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to We Need An Increase of Survival Horror

  1. Aether says:

    I think the mainstream creators have largely left survival horror up to the indies to keep going. I don’t know about the business side of things, but judging from what the AAA producers have been saying, survival horror doesn’t often have the flash that makes them easy to market to the mainstream. Even modern horror games from the major publishers, like Evil Within and Silent Hill, are presented more on their pedigree than anything else. But honestly, I think we do need more good survival horror titles. Horror is one of the things that a properly done video game can hit far better than most other types of media, and it’s a little irritating seeing one of gaming’s big strengths go to waste.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. vbhaynie says:

    When it comes to survival horror type games, I have played my fair share to know what to expect, and so far all pretty predictable for me except Silent Hill. I would like to see more of these games but with a wider parameter. With that being said, sharing the horror is always fun, so I would like to see a game that has online campaign coop. I believe that would make it fun not only to be freaked out, but to motivate camaraderie.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Silent Hill is a good exception to most games, I’d personally like to see most games strive to be unpredictable. Gaming all these years, I find it hard to not guess whats going to happen next and not be right. I also like your idea of coop, which games like RE5, and Left 4 Dead done well, but I think it could be implemented better.

      Like

  3. Playing scary video games is something I just don’t do. Scary movies bore me to tears, but scary video games terrify me. When the lights go off and someone hands me a flashlight, I’m done! That’s actually the inspiration for the cover to by book, Flashlight Stories, the thought that I DO NOT want to find out what’s hiding in this dark room.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I love them, or use to at least, I find the games getting less creepy and scary. I’m assuming though, that has more to do with me getting older. Seeing a dark room, and not knowing what is in it. Well, my curiosity gets the best of me, usually ending up with me quickly turning and running away lol.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

