A Hero Who Dies

Before I start I would like to say SPOILERS will be thrown here and there.

When a great hero is born, he/she grows up doing a lot of good, protecting people, changing lives, and making the world a better place. At some point that hero, will meet their demise, the world will witness their downfall.

This topic has been on my mind for a while now, and I just want to share my views on it. Gaming for the longest time, has stuck itself in this spot, a spot of happily ever endings, which in a nutshell is perfectly fine. Who doesn’t love that type of ending?

What happens when your hero dies? For years now we’ve seen this happen, or other characters that we like die. Since 2012, one game stands higher than any other. Mass Effect 3 (Great game I love it).

Now Shepard gave his life, just so you could cry about it. Don’t get me wrong, I know it goes much deeper than that. I could honestly, along with everyone else go on about the ending all day. This shouldn’t have happened, that shouldn’t have, and so on.

I liked it, I thought it was a good ending, left with stuff that could and should be explained in future story’s. I know Shepard’s story is done with, but to tie that in, and explain in another hero’s world would be amazing. Bioware isn’t stupid, they know how to write something marvelous.

I’m sad to see fans complain so much so that developers go back and make a change or try to. This also happened with Fallout 3, come on, you are playing through someone’s story, it’s not yours. Besides what has happened to your imagination? I can set here and dream all day about the ending to Mass Effect 3, and what happened after it ended. I don’t need to be spoon feed by the developers.

Lets look at some other endings.

Red Dead Redemption

John dies, such a shocking scene when I first saw it. It actually fits in the game though, wild west, live by the gun, die by the gun.

LA Noire

Cole dies, why? I didn’t want it to be him, a horrible way to go, but it shouldn’t have been him.

Gears of War 3

This isn’t the ending, but why take Dom? Everyone that likes the series likes Dom. I understand he was devastated with the loss of his wife Maria. I wish Baird would have traded places with Dom, I can’t stand Baird, if he would have been the main character of the series, I would have never gotten into it. Point in case: GoW: Judgement if it wasn’t for the other characters especially Cole, I would have never beat it.

You can look at other games and see this happening all the time. Halo Reach killed off everyone except for Jun, who is presumed MIA. It makes me think, what other series would people go crazy off.

I’ve already been hearing if Master Chief dies, the series dies as well. What if Bowser killed Mario? Would it really matter? I mean we all know Luigi pays Bowser to distract Mario, because Peach and him is having an affair. Just think about it. Anyway what did you think about the ending to Mass Effect 3? Or any other games that you wish were different.

About crazysnake513

I'm currently 24, I love video games, and animation. I also love to sketch, and write poetry. I plan to maybe start college soon for animation, if all goes well. In the mean time, I'm working on my own animation project.
This entry was posted in Gaming and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Hero Who Dies

  1. majormexx says:

    Totally agree with you on the GoW perspective. Although, it was interesting to get some backstory on Baird through GoW: Judgement. Can’t wait to see what they do on the next gen consoles! The Pendulum Wars is a great bit in the backstory.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Same here, before Judgement was announced I was actually hoping the next installment would have been of the Pendulum Wars. Thanks for the comment & sub, it means a lot.

      Liked by 1 person

      • majormexx says:

        Likewise. As I’m sure you saw, I’m pretty new to the WordPress scene. I was pleasantly surprised to see how active it was, though. It appears the long-form nature of the platform attracts a more engaged community that doesn’t just circulate clickbait.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Welcome to WordPress man, the community is fantastic. I first started with Blogger, and had no luck there. I’ve had no problem on here finding and engaging on a variety of topics. With that a ton of great people. Just don’t give up if running a blog is what you really want to do.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

