Toy Story 4 and Academy Awards

I’m not sure how many of you guys/girls watch or follow animated news. I’m sure some of you follow something, perhaps something anime related of the sorts. If you don’t, well don’t fret to much, the simple answer is you aren’t missing much. It’s almost laughable hearing me say that, considering I want to make animation. I blame it on video game, you always find something highly interesting on gaming sites.

Recently an announcement caught my eye, Toy Story 4, yep once again, Woody, Buzz, and the rest of the gang will be back again. Not until 2017 unfortunately, Toy Story has become a series, that I highly enjoy. The so called story was conceived by the writers on the first Toy Story. If you remember the ending to Toy Story 3 (Spoiler), Andy gave they toys to a young girl, which will focus around the upcoming movie. I’m also glad to say Pixar will have the honors of making the movie.

In other news the Academy Awards will be amongst us very soon. The so called be all for movie awards. I never watch them, I don’t think I ever will. Then why am I bringing it up? Simple, it shows the flaws in animation, and also shows how older adults view animation as a whole. Which simply put, with how the industry is at the moment, it can’t compete with Hollywood. Are can they? That is up for you to decide.

A little run down on all of this, we all know that animated films have been around for awhile now. The Academy Awards say that they acknowledge this, which is fine. Over the years a few (Special awards) were given to films such as Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs, Who Framed Roger Rabbit, and Toy Story.

We didn’t see a category rise, until 2001, which is understandable. The competition wasn’t big enough they said. Now it is, and every year we have seen nominations for best animated film. The list of winners from 2001 to now are:

2001: Shrek

2002: Spirited Away

2003: Finding Nemo

2004: The Incredibles

2005: Wallace & Gromit: The Curse of the Were-Rabbit

2006: Happy Feet

2007: Ratatouille

2008: WALL- E

2009: Up

2010: Toy Story 3

2011: Rango

2012: Brave

2013: Frozen

Not a bad list at all, they all deserved it in some form or way.  Why aren’t these films being nominated into other category’s though? Going over last years, or rather this years winners, and runners up, the stuff is trash. Most movies that come out are simply trash, and most aren’t even worth a watch. That’s just my opinion though, I know a lot of people out there are movie fanatics, which is simply OK.

I guess I have some animosity towards how animation is seen, which in a big part is due to the industry. Not everything has to look childish, or cater to kids, which again is fine, I have no problem with it. Looking at it though, it’s funny how gaming has passed up animation films, and accomplished do much more, in a very short span of time.

I guess you can blame the uncanny valley for that, which is such a complicated thing. I’m not sure if you all even know what that is, or if you’ve even heard of it, I’ll have to do a post on it soon.

I’m gonna stop before I start ranting again, which will turn into a rehash of a post/posts I’ve already written lol. Before I go 20 animated films have been brought up for this upcoming Academy Awards. Sadly only 5 will picked as nominees, I’ll list them, and you can let your brain go wild on which ones you think will be picked.

Big Hero 6

The Book of Life

The Boxtrolls

Cheatin’

Giovanni’s Island

Henry & Me

The Hero of Color City

How to Train Your Dragon 2

Jack and the Cuckoo-Clock Heart

Legends of Oz: Dorthy’s Return

The Lego Movie

Minuscule- Valley of the Lost Ants

Mr. Peabody & Sherman

Penguins of Madagascar

The Pirate Fairy

Planes: Fire & Rescue

Rio 2

Rocks in My Pockets

Song of the Sea

The Tale of the Princess Kaguya

About crazysnake513

I'm currently 24, I love video games, and animation. I also love to sketch, and write poetry. I plan to maybe start college soon for animation, if all goes well. In the mean time, I'm working on my own animation project.
This entry was posted in Animation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

