Throwback Gems: Diddy Kong Racing

Diddy-Kong-Racing

Diddy Kong Racing was first released in 1997 on the Nintendo 64, and was developed by Rare. Later in 2007 a enhanced remake was released on the DS, called Diddy Kong Racing DS. Anyone remember this title? I do, in fact, I spent a ton of time playing this game, it was one of my favorite N64 games. Much like the beloved Mario Kart series, Diddy Kong Racing brought a lot of fun in a sweet and nice little racing game.

I don’t remember much about Mario Kart 64, in fact I’m pretty sure I never played it. Diddy Kong Racing came with 10 playable characters, only 3 who have managed to survive over time, Diddy Kong, Banjo- Kazooie, and Conker the Squirrel. It was nice to see both Banjo, and Conker go on to have their own series.

The game for that time, had an amazing amount of tracks in it, 26. The only draw back to this game was, it has 3 different drivable vehicles, a car, hovercraft, and pane. To me it may as well should have only had cars and planes. That hovercraft was so hard to control, maybe it was just me, I’m a bad driver when it comes to racing games lol.

I’ve always enjoyed Mario Kart, but this is one game I’d love to see be turned into a series. Donkey Kong Racing was set to come out on the Gamecube, but was cancelled, it was around the time Microsoft bought Rare. It later came out on the Wii as Donkey Kong Barrel Blast, which really ended up not being much.

About crazysnake513

I'm currently 24, I love video games, and animation. I also love to sketch, and write poetry. I plan to maybe start college soon for animation, if all goes well. In the mean time, I'm working on my own animation project.
This entry was posted in Throwback Gems and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Throwback Gems: Diddy Kong Racing

  1. I remember games from the N64 looking amazing, so it’s always funny to see how easy it is to see the polygon shapes of these characters. I played the game, and really enjoyed it. Isn’t this one of the few games that required some kind of expansion for the N64, though? I think that might have turned a few people away. I might be thinking of a different game, but I think it was this one.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

