Throwback Gems: Alundra

01-620x

Released in 1997, Alundra hit the PS1 at a time when some titles were starting to really blow up. Alundra is action adventure game, or RPG, people tend to pick one or the other when it comes to the game.

When I think of the PS1, Alundra is one of the many titles that pop into my head. Years after its release, I still find myself going back, or wanting to go back and play this fantastic game. The biggest thing about Alundra that sticks out is its story.

At the time I first played it, I didn’t know what I was getting into. The characters in this title were some of the first I found myself deeply caring about. Which is sad, death and loss seemed to become major themes, as the story went on. A story like this really frustrates me at time, but draws me in, grabbing my attention until I finish it.

The gameplay somewhat reminded me of the older Zelda games, and the music in the game was amazing. Alundra at times could get frustrating, but overall made for a great time. It has become one of those classic titles, I could go back to at any time. Alundra was also released on PSN, if anyone is looking for a older game, its defiantly worth a try. Sadly I believe a lot of people passed on the game, due to Final Fantasy 7 being released earlier that year.

About crazysnake513

I'm currently 24, I love video games, and animation. I also love to sketch, and write poetry. I plan to maybe start college soon for animation, if all goes well. In the mean time, I'm working on my own animation project.
This entry was posted in Throwback Gems and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Throwback Gems: Alundra

  1. I need to learn how to love games like this. Usually, if a game doesn’t allow me to level my character up, it’s not the right kind of RPG for me. Even collecting heart pieces for Link isn’t as satisfying as gaining a level for me, and I actually prefer non-Zelda-like RPGs. Despite those feelings, I KNOW these games should be fun, COULD be fun, if I could just get in the right mindset. It looks fun, but I actually prefer random battles.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I prefer the random battles as well. Games like this one is great, Alundra is really great for its story alone. But it really comes down to what you enjoy, and I understand that some people can’t get into a game like this. That’s also what makes us great a gamers or humans really, is having diverse opinions and things we like.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

