Destiny Explored

destiny

I for one was excited when I first heard that Bungie was working on a new project. I have been a fan for years now, the first game of theirs I played was Marathon 2. Adding to that, the Halo series has been a great series, that I’ve spent thousands of hours with. Although I love Halo, it is nice seeing a developer move onto something new.

Now of course it really comes down to was it worth it, does the game deliver? With a studio that has propelled itself into a household name, it better be right? This isn’t a review, or a recommendation, just my thoughts and feelings on the game so far. What I like, dislike, and what I would like to see in the future.

I still see a lot of people who refer to Destiny as a “MMOFPS”, which is very incorrect, as it lacks many MMO qualities. Bungie refers to Destiny as “Shared-World Shooter”. Which for me I don’t even see it as that. I’m gonna call it a “Online Co-op FPS”, simply as that is what Destiny comes off as to me. Which in a closed box, means about the same thing as any other term someone has giving it.

I started playing Destiny, and before it even started I was dreading it a bit. I waited to get the game, because as time went on I didn’t like the trailers. I played the beta, and thought that it was simply OK at best. I’d already developed a negative mood and mindset about the game, before playing it. Reading what other fans were saying, reviews, and such killed it even more.

I started playing though, trying to keep in mind how much fun it could be. I was slowly realizing how wrong I had judged Destiny from the start. Only planing to play for an hour or two, led to several hours before I knew it. Realizing that Destiny had me hooked not long after I started.

Once I stopped, I sat back and started thinking about my experience and the overall game. Destiny is in no way perfect, and comes with many flaws, some that are unnecessary. Yes the game comes with content that seems like its not enough. The story seemed short, and left me with questions, that I hope to get answered in the future.

Expansion packs are on the way, which is great in terms of content. Which again doesn’t really make up for the shortcomings that Destiny puts on the player. In reality it probably would have been best to have the first two expansion packs included to start with. Which I’m going to jump off the wall and whisper Activision on that one.

Now that I got most of the little annoying things out of the way, lets talk about things I enjoyed. I started as a Titan, (which I personally named Sham-Loc), I enjoy the class. And I’m guessing out of the three classes, they don’t make much difference later on. That may or may not be a bad thing for some.

The combat is just downright exhilarating, the controls are smooth, its nice to have that. At times I find myself getting in situations that give me a rush, I love that in games. The last game that gave me a rush like that was Resident Evil 4, it has been way to long.

I enjoyed messing with the different types of weapons, until I found what worked best for me. Its nice having different types of armor to try on to make the character look different, although that doesn’t matter to me. If it wasn’t for the armor upgrading your stats, I wouldn’t even bother with that. Customization is really the last thing I care for in a game, and is absurd to me in a sense.

The biggest thing that stood out for me was the co-op, I love co-op. Its what made me fall in love with series like Halo, and Gears of War to start with. Because lets face it being able to have a friend play along with everything you do, always makes things better. That in turn for me at least, made not having a much content not as important, as it should be. If I can play a multiplayer game hours on end, with the same maps people keep voting for. Why can’t I do it here?

Now the community, lets face it, every community comes with people who aren’t fun to play with, who are mean, and so on. I’ve heard a lot about Destiny’s community, especially with them being horrible. My experience though has been great, I’ve meet a lot of people I enjoyed playing with. I’ve even added some to keep playing with, most within the strike missions. I do however seem to run into at least one player who is AFK a lot, which can get annoying.

As of right now, I’m a level 25 or 26 its been a few days since I’ve been able to play. But I got to say I’ve enjoyed my experience with it so far, and I plan on playing for awhile to come. I wish I could talk about the muliplayer, as of now I’ve only played two matches, so that will come at a later time.

Thinking about the future is hard for a game like Destiny, simply because it can go in many different directions. More raids, and strikes would be nice, and a part of me wants to say less grinding. But the other part of me loves RPGs and I’m certainly use to grinding, and Destiny delievers the funnest grinding I’ve ever had to do lol.

As with any game Destiny is in no way perfect, but it does draw me in for hours every time I play. I find it downright fun, and enjoyable entertainment, that’s what all games are suppose to do. I plan on sticking with Destiny for awhile to see how things turn out, and I’ll talk more about my experiences within Destiny as time goes on.

About crazysnake513

I'm currently 24, I love video games, and animation. I also love to sketch, and write poetry. I plan to maybe start college soon for animation, if all goes well. In the mean time, I'm working on my own animation project.
This entry was posted in Gaming and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Destiny Explored

  1. I’m not a big fan of 1st person shooters, but my brother likes this game. I’ve basically ignored it, because I don’t care about Halo either, but a lot people say that RPG fans could easily get into it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

