Throwback Gems: Another World

another-world

Another World or you may know it as Out of This World, or even Outer World, was released back in 1991, for the Amiga, and Atari ST. The game got praise from critics, and became a success, leading to it being ported to other systems such as Sega Genesis, SNES, GBA, and so on.

In short you play as a man named Lester, who is a scientist. Lester finds himself in a alien world filled with danger, because of an experiment gone wrong (Gordon Freeman’s uncle?), and is forced to fight to survive.

As with most older games like Another World, you can not simply talk about it, and get your point across. Another World back in its time was great, it done a lot of things that hadn’t been done before. The biggest thing being it’s story, it was the first game I played, that keep me on the edge of my seat until I finished it.

Looking back now, the gameplay, wouldn’t be much fun to younger generations. Even adding in the the story, most gamers wouldn’t appreciate what the game has to offer. I will say though, if you are a fan of older games, and still like to backtrack to visit the history of gaming, Another World is the way to go.

To even put a cherry on top of the icing to show just how special Another World is. It was one of the first games put into Video Game Art Exposition at the Museum of Modern Art in 2012, which only included 14 titles.

About crazysnake513

I'm currently 24, I love video games, and animation. I also love to sketch, and write poetry. I plan to maybe start college soon for animation, if all goes well. In the mean time, I'm working on my own animation project.
This entry was posted in Throwback Gems and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Throwback Gems: Another World

  1. Aether says:

    I’ve never played it, but I’ve seen this game gone through a few times. It always looked interesting to me, but I never could quite grasp it as a child.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Played it when it came out in the beginning of the 90’s. People were amazed by the graphics and the spooky atmosphere. It was never my favorite, but I can see why it has received the status it has.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It doesn’t seem to be on any of the devices I own, or else I would look into this game a little more. I was surprised when you said it came out in 1991. The graphics in the picture look great for 91.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

