Throwback Gems: Star Ocean: The Second Story

star-ocean-2-second-story-rena-arlia-village

I’ve officially stated several times over previous blogs how much I love an RPG. Star Ocean is no different, even with the series not having as many titles (5), and one not being released outside of Japan, I still love the series. My first foray into the series was The Second Story, in 1998, a little under two years after if was released.

Around this time was when I started to really find and broaden my gaming collection, and for this I started to discover RPG’s. What a fantastic time really, since at the time, I had been playing on nothing but consoles, and not explored much outside of a platformer. At the young age, I honestly couldn’t tell you what I was playing. I didn’t really understand the mechanics of the game, I died a lot, at times I would get frustrated.

I could say one thing, I was addicted, I couldn’t stop playing, and spent a ton of time on this single game alone. That isn’t counting the many times I’ve went back over the years, just to revisit this classic.

The Second Story featured different outcomes depending choices made by you. I believe the game featured 89 different endings. I’ve never gotten over 10, which I’m stuck in my ways, and choose to do the same thing over.

I gotta say over all the games I’ve played over the years, I got to give thanks to Star Ocean, especially The Second Story. It’s really the first RPG that got me into the genre, and started that fire and love that has keep me going all these years.

I hope you all enjoyed this, I decided to talk a little more about me and the game this time. Instead of just describing the game, still need to work on making these better though, haha I know I can.

About crazysnake513

I'm currently 24, I love video games, and animation. I also love to sketch, and write poetry. I plan to maybe start college soon for animation, if all goes well. In the mean time, I'm working on my own animation project.
This entry was posted in Throwback Gems and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

