You can not conform art

Over the past few days news has broke with Sony not releasing The Interview. Should Sony really do that? Looking at it, if North Korea really was behind the hack, I can see why they have stopped the release. Especially looking at the stand point of violence being threatened, even if its coming from a country that makes threats, and doesn’t go through with them. When it comes to technology, I see everything as being able to hack into, that is if you’ve got the resources, money etc. That is for a whole other conversation, that I don’t want to get into.

The biggest reason is art, we all love some form of art. Movies are essentially considered art, doesn’t matter if you agree or not. Bottom line is you can’t or shouldn’t try to conform art as a viewer, and as a artist, you shouldn’t let viewers get the best of you. Simply put this is what Sony has done, when they shouldn’t have. To put it on the record, I had no plans to see this movie, and probably never would have. I don’t enjoy Seth Rogen, and I can’t find enjoyment out of most comedies nowadays.

To even further reiterate my views on this, I ain’t with the people saying “We are letting the terrorist get the best of us” or “This is America, and you can’t do that”. Countless other pieces of media have released that people have tried to conform, or threaten to do something.

Team America was a nice one wasn’t it? Or is it different when it doesn’t include live action and humans? What about Black Ops 2? Manuel Noriega filled a lawsuit against Activision for him being in the game, needless to say it was thrown out of court. You can find a lot of other media that has had this happen if you search. Movies, books, music, video games, it doesn’t matter what you find wrong with it. You can’t simply change something that you don’t like for whatever reason.

I’ve seen a lot of things I don’t like, but I don’t try and change it. This rant isn’t just about Sony, a lot of other things have happened in the past few years, that is unnecessary. Take Bioware for example, with Mass Effect 3. A lot of people didn’t like the ending, that doesn’t mean you have to hurry up and find a way to change it, same goes for Bethesda and Fallout 3.

I can also look from a point of the developers, these are your fans. As having fans when it comes to entertainment, it is your job to make them happy. As if it wasn’t for your fans, you wouldn’t be where you are now, they make you. From a fans point of view, we always want more, and we always have a view of how things are going to go. So when they don’t we sometimes get upset about things. I see it a little different, just as we make our favorite entertainers, we wouldn’t be able to if they didn’t create it in the first place.

In that little space that we feel comfortable in it all sounds nice, but get more complicated once you start taking in other views and opinions. Which we all have to consider and take into account. Why? Because what I like, you may not, and what you like, I may not. This is the most difficult thing to figure out for a artist. Of course you want to have all eyes on you, and it feels good when it happens.

But don’t conform to the demands of other people, doesn’t matter if they are the majority or minority. Constructive criticism on the other hand is always nice to have, not “This is stupid” “This is gay” “I’m going to kill you if this doesn’t change”. Give real feedback, something people can understand, and change to make more enjoyable. Just take in consideration, you may not get those changes, that person may think their product is fine just like it is.

I hope everyone has a nice and safe weekend.

About crazysnake513

I'm currently 24, I love video games, and animation. I also love to sketch, and write poetry. I plan to maybe start college soon for animation, if all goes well. In the mean time, I'm working on my own animation project.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

