The day a titan fell

Over the past few weeks deals on games have been great, in fact deals are still going on. I managed to pick up a few games, that I have been curious about, and wanted to play. Titanfall, The Evil Within, Far Cry 4, BioShock Infinite, along with some other smaller games. The first game I sat down with was Titanfall.

titanfall-hudI’ve heard quite a few different opinions on the game, from good to horrible. Its always nice to see new IPs from people who have worked on multiple games, like Call of Duty or Medal of Honor. A high profile history like that tends to bring hype, and Titanfall achieved that, while winning over 60 awards in 2013, at E3. And generally having really positive to good reviews from critics after launch.

After putting a good amount of time into it, it leads me to ask. How did the game garner all this? And how does it continue to? From a perspective, the game is fun, Titanfall will give you entertainment. At the same time, Titanfall fell short in some of the most important ways.

A single-player campaign would have been nice to start with. Yes, I know, Titanfall does include a so called campaign playlist. But honestly, I couldn’t tell the difference between that and the MP, except for a few tiny changes. This in turn made me think of MAG, on PS3, not sure why though. MAG was good for a time, but missed out on great potential, just like Titanfall has.

The second concerning thing is the game throws in bots, that are nothing more than cannon-fodder, Which the game dubs “Artificial Intelligent Soldiers”, which in turn made me think of Brink. Although the game is no where near as bad as Brink. This throwing in bots makes me feel at times, that I’m just playing against bots. At the end of games it is apparent most of your kills come from killing bots.

The biggest thing breaking this feeling is a titan coming along, and destroying everything. Which is ultimately the greatest thing about Titanfall. Calling for a titan, and watching it fall out of the sky, then running to hop into it, is great. I felt like I had all kinds of power in my hands. This makes for great gameplay, and so much fun fighting other titans. Only to see who is going to win that fight, which is easily done if you use your powers right. Adding to that, the fights get even more exhilarating when several titans are running around.

Respawn Entertainment, ultimately done a lot of great things with Titanfall. At the same time failed to include some of the most important elements a game should have. Overall all, I think the series has massive potential, if they decide to turn it into a series. As far as the fun factor goes, you can find it here, if your willing to deal with some shortcomings. I would like to give more opinions about the game. But seeing as I have reached level 27, the game has turned into a grinding up to level up, and I feel like I have seen all the biggest features the game gives.

If you’ve played it, what do you think about it?

About crazysnake513

I'm currently 24, I love video games, and animation. I also love to sketch, and write poetry. I plan to maybe start college soon for animation, if all goes well. In the mean time, I'm working on my own animation project.
This entry was posted in Gaming and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

