A Peruvian Experience

Back in 7/5/2013, I found myself in a situation I never thought I’d be in. All that day I had spent packing for a trip. This trip was a Missionary trip with a local church around the area I live in. I honestly had no idea what I was in for, I’d signed up and made a commitment for something I didn’t think about. That in itself was probably a bad idea, not counting the amount of money I was spending. I had people tell me it wasn’t worth the time, effort, or money to go on the trip.

Taking in all this, I let it work on my nerves, I didn’t get any sleep that night. I had to leave around 3:15 a.m. to make my way to the airport. Soon I was there, and surrounded around a group of other people I knew nothing about. I thought to myself was this a good idea? By this time, I had been up for over 24 hours, a headache slowly creeping up, and I was boarding a plane, something I had never been on.

Hearing all these stories about planes getting hijacked, crashing for no reason, or anything else, creeps into your mind if you let it. Was I afraid? No, but I was nervous, I didn’t know what to expect. To make matters worse, my seat was by the window, right with the wing of the plane. The first good experience game on take off, I thought that was pretty cool, if I had it my way we would have landed and took off again.

The next experience came when we was well up in the air, and started hitting turbulence. I wish I could give a good description of how this felt, but I simply don’t know how to describe it. It isn’t bad, but for a first time ride, it got the adrenaline pumping a little bit. As the was sitting by the window, I had nothing better to do than look at the wing. This is the moment I let sleep, nerves, and a clouded mind get the best of me. I stared at the wing for the first 20 minutes waiting, for it to explode, tear off, or do something.

With my imagination, I could just see it happening at any second. Crazy right? Who in their right mind, imagines the plane crashing while they are riding in one? I did lol, the first stop came in Atlanta, to get in a bigger plane. Not much to say here, we had to wait 3 hours before we boarded the next plane. They had this cool underground subway I guess you’d call it. I’m young so I enjoyed riding it, it would take off abruptly, and stop the same. I know it isn’t nice, but I got a good kick out of seeing people fly all over the place when it started and stopped.

The time came to board the next plane, by this time I had already experienced it, my nerves had subsided. I had yet to get any sleep, and I believe I passed out before we even took off. I woke up about 30 minutes before we was to land in Lima, Peru. After we landed we had to check in with security that takes forever. I did notice a big difference in how security was in Atlanta, than in Lima. Lima had a lot of officers walking around with dogs, which is also used for people trying to take home food, not just drugs.

598410_10202220999305936_41380551_nFrom Lima, we got on a bus to travel to Otuzco, which is where we would be spending most of our time. Before exiting security I got stopped and searched, I had something suspicious on me, which turned out to be batteries. Needless to say I was let loose, and I got to take my pack of batteries with me.

We got on a bus, this gave me a good amount of time to witness the pure beauty that Peru holds. I got more pictures of the land than I did anything else. I also got to witness that all drivers in Peru are crazy, any of them would make good candidates to be a Nascar driver. They also believe in using the horn that is provided with the car, which with all the cars put together, sounded like a horrible musical.

After an hour or two we arrived in Otuzco, it was late by then, so we just went to the hotel. Before I went to sleep I was given bottled water to drink, drinking the water there could give me diarrhea, and I was told not to flush toilet paper down the toilet. Each bathroom had a bin to throw it away in.

1075183_10202178440721998_1310023092_nNow waking up at 6:30 it was cold, it was their winter, yet I hadn’t figured it would be that cold. I got my next surprise next as soon as I hopped into the shower, I think I remember screaming like a little girl. NO HOT WATER, not even warm, that area I was in apparently didn’t have anything else. Quickest shower I took all week, gotta love that.

After all that while I was waiting on everyone else, I walked out on the balcony. I noticed all the kids running and walking to school. Some where goofing off, horsing around with each other. As I took another look around, I noticed women outside beating rugs, rosters crowing, and the biggest hog I’ve ever seen running in a circle. I’m not sure why I remember the hog, its just one of those things.

We ended up at a restaurant eating breakfast, and the food is something I had made a commitment about before going, gotta be open minded. Yet, for most of it while I was there, it was good. Not much different than what I’d eat here at home, a lot of rice though. The only weird thing I ate was the guinea pig, or that’s what it was suppose to be. That was by choice to, only 5 of us tried it. If I had another go, I’d eat another one. Don’t judge lol, it was good.

983450_10202178269597720_230671470_nThe biggest reason for going was medical reasons, while another group was there to have Bible school with the kids, and try and show them a good time. I have never been trained in the medical field, so with that I was best suited to run to the pharmacy a lot. These guys seemed to have a lot of them down there. The crazy thing is for most of it, I just had to ask for it.

The kids were easily the best part of the trip, it was nice seeing how different they act than kids here in the states. The little boys there wanted to fight me, and would flex their muscles every time they seen me. I couldn’t figure out why, until we left, one of the boys in the group told them I was a wrestler back here in the states.

Because of these kids, it easily one of the hardest reasons to leave. I knew the whole point of this trip was to go and try to help the people. Yet, it made me wonder. How much did I help them? I’m sure I did in a lot of ways, but I’m almost positive they helped me more. In a perspective, this whole trip helped me more than I could have ever done.

To put an experience like this into words isn’t possible for me to do. I loved everyday that I was in Peru. You could say it was being in a new place, experiencing something new, but I didn’t want to leave. I think its something everyone should experience once in their life, that is just my opinion though.

995122_10202220999985953_123688763_nThings that stuck out was how everyone was friendly. I never saw anyone fighting or arguing. All of that is on the surface though, I had heard from the locals about the drug problem. It didn’t help much when they talked about the Shining Path, which you would hear different stories about.

None of that is important though, ever country has a somewhat problem with drugs, and so on. I got to say though, I loved every bit of the trip. I’ve always wanted to travel the world, and Peru was the first stop in it, I only wish it could have been longer.

I said I was going to make an effort at talking about different things at times, instead of just animation and games. What would be better than to talk about my trip? I hope you enjoy it.

About crazysnake513

I'm currently 24, I love video games, and animation. I also love to sketch, and write poetry. I plan to maybe start college soon for animation, if all goes well. In the mean time, I'm working on my own animation project.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Peruvian Experience

  1. Aether says:

    That was a really interesting story. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow, what a beautiful place. It must have been an exhilarating experience. Thanks for sharing it. šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes it was a very exhilarating experience, one that I will never forget. The pictures I have don’t even show the beauty Peru truly holds. Its something you have to see, I wish you could experience it like I did.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. megaeggz says:

    PLACES PLACES DINNER PLACES. WHERE YOU ALL ALONE? šŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

