Thieving in the Shadows

thief

It has been way too long since we have been given a Thief game, the last one Deadly Shadows released back in 2004. Naturally it was nice to find out another game was in development, even if it was labeled as a so called revival of the series. The big question though, does Thief manage to do just that? A true revival?

Knowing that Eidos Montreal is the developer, well that will manage to put some excitement in someone. The simple reason being is Deus Ex: Human Revolution, they did such a fantastic job with that game. Knowing this a lot of people got excited, hoping in the end the same could be said about Thief.

My overall experience as I played Thief was mixed reactions, and turned out to be a love and hate relationship. To start off it was nice being able to take the role of Garrett once again. The story however was the biggest thing that bothered me. I saw in an interview, that for story purposes, other things were cut, to include all the story elements Eidos thought was important.

My question is simply this. What was so important about it? It came off as very weak, I did like the idea of it though. Yes, it did have certain elements that was good, yet at the end of the game I was disappointed. The biggest part of the story that was a let down is the direction it wants to go in, but never does, it only toys with you.

At a certain point I realized, OK I’m about to be thrown into a supernatural setting, maybe something bizarre. Yet as time went on, I only seen bits and pieces of this, with nothing truly coming of it. It feels like the game is teetering on two sides, uncertain of what direction it wants to travel.

Even with this, I find it to be a little less important than most. I remember a lot of the old Splinter Cell games, I played them simply for the stealth, nothing else. Stealth is the best feature about Thief, and I loved every minute of sneaking around in the shadows. This is also the part I fail at, I can never stay hidden. I like to get myself in a cat chasing a mouse scenario, only to turn the tables on my foes.

The downside of this in Thief was finding myself cornered, with not a lot of options to escape. It isn’t as bad as it may sound though, it just ends up being limited, or at least that is how it seemed for me. If you want pure stealth, and look for a challenge it is here, and can be a lot of fun. This is really best suited for a pure stealth, no knockout or kills type thing.

Weapons are interesting to use, even with most of them dealing with the bow. Again though, this is another missed opportunity in which better ideas could have been carried out. What I was given though, I did enjoy, I did find myself running out a lot, then having to rely on stealth, until I found a vendor.

One of the more enjoyable things I found was finding various places around free roam to loot. The side missions can also be included here, as they in someways feel more enjoyable than the main game.

Overall I enjoyed Thief, yet was a little disappointed, I’m guessing it has to do with the earlier games in the series. I’m sure plenty of old fans will play this and love it, along with some hating it. I’m sure a lot of newcomers to the series will enjoy it, and if you want it for nothing more than stealth, then you’ve got a good game to play.

I do hope that in the future we will once again see Garrett stalk his pray in the shadows. Maybe, just maybe next time, the experience will be able to capture a good amount of the old to throw in with the new as well.

About crazysnake513

I'm currently 24, I love video games, and animation. I also love to sketch, and write poetry. I plan to maybe start college soon for animation, if all goes well. In the mean time, I'm working on my own animation project.
This entry was posted in Gaming and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thieving in the Shadows

  1. Aether says:

    Haven’t played the game, but a lot of what you’re saying does sound like exactly what I appreciated in the old games. So your end estimation may be right on the money.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’d been hearing a lot of great things, along with a lot of bad. Its hard to recommend simply because it seems to be a hit and miss for old fans of the series. If a lot of what I said described what you liked in older games, then you would most likely enjoy it.

      Like

  2. Riley says:

    I played it with my little brother at his house and really enjoyed it as an escape from the PVP world we dwell in. I thought the graphics were really nice and the controls very smooth. The classic thief Garrett was back in action and I had a great time playing along. Though i did not finish the game haha I really only played for about 4 hours total and really didnt make much progression in the actual storyline. The free roam looting was pretty great and I did find plenty of nice grabs.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Its a good game, and if you ever get the chance you should try and beat it. Free roam is distracting, as its simply fun to do. I myself got side tracked quite a bit, only to see what all I could find.

      Like

Leave a Reply

