Throwback Gems: Brothers in Arms: Road to Hill 30

523779I’m a huge fan of History, and war, especially WW2. Put all that into a game with a great story, and you will have me hooked. Before Gearbox really blew up, they made ports of Half Life for the Dreamcast, PS2, along with working on other various stuff that in reality, Valve is known for. The sad thing is you never heard Gearbox being mentioned much, until Borderlands came around.

Before Borderlands though, came a series known as Brothers in Arms. Road to Hill 30 was the first to release in 2005 on Xbox, PS2, and PC. The series came at a time when war games still relived the past. Even with all its competition, Road to Hill 30 stuck out in a crowd, that was really dense. This is a good thing, and for good reasons, the game manages to do what others never tried.

The first and most important thing for any first person shooter is its gameplay. The gameplay is different, although a lot of fun, it is what will throw a lot of people off. Instead of running in guns blazing, being a one man army, you get tactical, controlling squads on the field. You will find running out of cover is suicide, instead you wanna lay down cover, and move to try and flank.

This in itself is a lot of fun, I enjoy it so much, it at the time was a big change to Call of Duty, and Medal of Honor. It made you think, which is different, I’m not saying it was a mind breaking task. But how many games do that, especially war? To many games make you feel like a super soldier, when Brothers in Arms went in a different direction.

The next biggest thing, for me at least is the story, I love it. If you’ve ever watched Band of Brothers and enjoy it. You will get the general same feel when you play threw this. I felt like I got to know the characters, I felt the struggles they were in trying to survive, and I felt bad if someone ended up dying. This game along with the whole series has done something special, that of which only Half Life, and Halo has done as far as bringing up emotion in a fps for me.

Like many other games Road to Hill 30 delivers a remarkable experience, that should experienced. The saddest thing is Gearbox, has dropped us it seems, not completing the story. With only one portion of the story yet to be seen, we have been waiting since 2008. I got to stop here before it leads to a rant lol, about the various failed projects, and over hyped/rated borderlands series Gearbox has made.

About crazysnake513

I'm currently 24, I love video games, and animation. I also love to sketch, and write poetry. I plan to maybe start college soon for animation, if all goes well. In the mean time, I'm working on my own animation project.
This entry was posted in Gaming, Throwback Gems and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Throwback Gems: Brothers in Arms: Road to Hill 30

  1. I’m not a real big fan of first person shooters, but I appreciate a game with a great storyline. I might have to try this one myself.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

