The Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings

16115838198_844085cf3d_bTo start things off, I never played the first game. I’ve had this one for awhile, but never fully played it. I started it, then half way through the first chapter put it down, I simply wasn’t having any fun with it. Recently I picked it back up, and found myself engulfed in a word that is amazing, and surrounded by characters I love.

What originally threw me off was the combat, it seemed so simply. I reminded myself later that the story should be a driving force to at least finish the game. I’m happy I did, it not only lead to beating it, but doing it twice. As time went on, I found that the combat wasn’t that simple, I was making it be simple.

I soon discovered I wasn’t taking the full advantages of things such as bombs, traps, and witcher signs. In due time, this made everything better, leading to at times some situations that made me laugh. Only due to the AI which seems dumb at times, but it isn’t a big deal.

The world seemed to be a good size, I enjoyed exploring. I wouldn’t dare compare it to others such as Fallout, and the Elder Scrolls series. As it seems things are constrained, I felt like hey we’ll give you some space, but not too much, just enough to keep you happy. I didn’t feel like it impacted me much, as I always seemed to find a cave to explore. Or other parts I’d find myself running into an Ogre or some other creature.

If I wasn’t finding these spots on my own, a side quest was leading me there. This is a reoccurring thing in RPGs, and its a big one. The Witcher 2 though doesn’t go overboard, I feel like it had a good amount, but not to many. I’m not sure if I done all of them, because most I was running into on accident. Which brings me to the map and navigation in the game.

I’m not sure if I missed something, or this is all screwed up, its really the only downfall in the game. I’m not going to be one that wants a straight line to everything I need to do, but come on. I found myself in situations not knowing where to go, the marker is here on the map, yet I’m suppose to go way over here. In one quest, I had to look it up to see where to go to start it. I hate admitting that, I never use walk-through, after all these years I feel ashamed using it just to figure out where to go.

The biggest and most impressive part of this game is indeed the story. This is also what made me play through it two times. At a certain part I was made to pick between to choices, one leading this way, the other another way. As I finished it, I found myself in amazement, I just lived an epic tale. A world tossed into turmoil, which lead to many fighting for what they believed in, which lead to many dying on both sides.

I had to see the other side, to see what changed, what events would pop up on the other side of things. And in doing so, the last two chapters sent me for a ride. I admit, I wasn’t expecting things to be that different, yet it seems like they were. This isn’t the biggest or best part, it was really the ending. Which are setting up the situation the witcher may actually find himself in when the next game comes out. This makes me not want to wait for the third game. I guess in that time, I will have to play the first one.

The one thing I will say is with both of these branching story’s, one feels good, while the other doesn’t. Not that either choice is bad, it just felt like one made me feel like a hero, while the other made me say what have I done. Maybe that’s just my perception of things in the end.

I can easily say that The Witcher 2 is an absolute great RPG and all around game. One that I will probably find myself playing through a few more times. I could also easily say I would put this in any list of my top RPG games. Its not easy to do that, mainly because I stick to the older ones I’ve played in the past.

Anyone played The Witcher 2? If so what did you think of it?

About crazysnake513

I'm currently 24, I love video games, and animation. I also love to sketch, and write poetry. I plan to maybe start college soon for animation, if all goes well. In the mean time, I'm working on my own animation project.
This entry was posted in Gaming and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings

  1. pollydactyl says:

    Someone recommended The Witcher series to me, so I guess I’ll have to try it at some point!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I would highly recommend it, especially if you like the up close and personal fights. You did enjoy Dragon Age, I think you would like this, but comparing both wouldn’t do either any justice.

      Like

Leave a Reply

