Are we as gamers spoiled?

You must be thinking what? Yea, I was doing the same thing when I thought about writing this. Spoil or spoiled can have many definitions, and I’m sure I could have come up with a better term. Maybe privileged, or not knowing what we truly have, many other word could replace spoiled.

The main thing that comes to mind is opinions overall, everyone has one. People tend to share them, we all do, and we have the right to do so. Now video games to me, is something I love. I choose them over movies, so much so I hardly watch movies, or get excited for them. The only things to spark my interest in recent years are Harry Potter, and Lord of the Rings.

Video games though is the best form of entertainment, I get more bang for my buck. I usually play through most games at least twice, more if I really like them. I’ve had the privilege of doing so going on 22 years now. That is a long time, and to stick to something that long truly shows your passion for that interest. A lot of older gamers can relate to that, and I’m sure they feel the same way.

But, I often find myself looking at all the new gamers, or younger generations playing games. If you play online, you’ve found yourself in a lobby with them. Or you’ve been able to see their opinions on blogs, forums, or maybe even writing reviews on a gaming site. I often find myself rather amused by how they act, and being able to hear their opinions on certain matters.

It makes me wonder, as gamers are we spoiled? My intent is not to talk bad about anyone, and it’s just not about the younger ones. Older gamers often do the same thing at times, or have been there at some point.

Lets say graphics for a minute, technology moves quick. We can easily see this, games have advanced rather quickly. Compare the original Super Mario Bros., with any new version. Or do the same with any other series such as Final Fantasy, Metal Gear Solid, or any series that’s been around for awhile. Its amazing right?

I find it funny when the graphics argument comes up between gamers. A new console comes out, fans automatically want to compare, and argue. The soon after the PC players will gently ease their way in, only to remind them PC is still able to up their console with graphics. I remember games such as Final Fantasy 8, Super Mario 64, Resident Evil, coming out. People talking how great they looked. I’m sure people done the same things back then, but I don’t remember it happening a lot. It was more about being surprised, and happy to see games getting better in a certain aspect.

Another good point is the challenge a game gives you. Back in the day it wasn’t hard to find a game to give you a good challenge. Ghosts ‘n Goblins, Battletoads, and so on, plenty of games were like this. But over the years things have changed big time, games are getting easier it seems. Now I’m not counting out games like Ninja Gaiden, Dark Souls, Demon Souls, or even Devil May Cry 3. All of which can give you one hell of ride, filling you with plenty of heart pounding moments.

Looking at some of the most popular games, Call of Duty, Halo, and others. Even on their hardest difficulty, you can actually easy through the game. For the case of Halo, we will take Halo 2 out of that list, because a lot of people found playing it on Legendary was hard. A good case for difficulty would be how many games don’t even let you select a difficulty to play on. They are just easy, not really giving a challenge at all. I understand some people don’t like something hard, they don’t want to die a lot, they just want to enjoy it. But for ones who want a good fight, give it to us.

The last biggest point is piling junk into a game, that isn’t really needed. You think about certain games. What games are your favorite? Even consider your favorite mp game if you want to. We’ll just use mp for this one, a lot of people have different opinions. But you will hear people throw around Halo 2, and Call of Duty 4 a lot. I look at these two titles, both I really enjoy. And, I’ve found myself spending tons of hours with both titles over the years, with both simple player, and multi player.

Have you ever noticed that players want more, they ask for it, others beg for it. When that comes, the same players or others, simply complain about it. “It isn’t as good as the last game”, “Everything is so random, it isn’t fun anymore”, tons of things could be said here. Adding more, doesn’t necessarily mean better. I know here in the states that is how most people see things, for instance look at Texas lol :P.

Any old game, Mario in this case, you would run straight across the screen, jump, throw some fireballs. That was simple, yet fun, and I would pick that over almost any other Mario game. A funny example would be players wanting sprint in Halo, Reach came along and we got it. After player seen how it was, along with other things added in it was a different story. Call of Duty was much more fun to me be simpler as well, in fact, I thought CoD2 was pretty good. I’m not complaining though, I still get on these new titles in these series, and enjoy them a lot.

These aren’t the only things though, you can find many other things to talk about. Opinions with everyone is different, that’s what makes up great as humans. If we liked the same things, everyone would be boring. This blog was something random that popped into my head, and I thought I’d write about it. So what do you think? Agree on those points, disagree? Sound off in the comments on what you think, feel free to add in other points if you’d like.

About crazysnake513

I'm currently 24, I love video games, and animation. I also love to sketch, and write poetry. I plan to maybe start college soon for animation, if all goes well. In the mean time, I'm working on my own animation project.
This entry was posted in Gaming and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Are we as gamers spoiled?

  1. Reblogged this on Thinker Life and commented:
    We can be since we can finished them in a few hours at times.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Red Metal says:

    I think some gamers have unreasonably high, and sometimes outright contradictory, expectations. I personally believe it’s best to go into games, or indeed any media (because I don’t think it’s just gamers that have this problem), as blind as possible so that you can be impressed with the work on its own merits rather than giving into the hype generated by the media.

    As far as difficulty is concerned, I think that a lot of it is game developers adopting better design practices over the years. A lot of older games would be considered unfair these days, but I don’t think it’s an entirely unfair assessment. Many of those games were difficult in ways that haven’t aged well such as having unpolished controls or featuring enemies that respawn offscreen. That’s not even getting into old adventure games, which are often criticized for featuring “walking dead” situations and obtuse puzzle solutions. Basically, they were ways of keeping gamers busy without having to create a lot of content; if you see speedruns of incredibly difficult NES games, a lot of them end up being less than an hour long. I think Dark Souls stands as a particularly good difficult game because it was made with modern-day design sensibilities. This means that, for the most part, whatever difficulty is present doesn’t feel cheap or unfair; instead, it feels like a real challenge.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I think we are spoiled due to the amount of options we have, with everything, not only video games. Thanks to the internet, I can find whatever music I want, I can find consoles and games that I want to play, I can go onto Netflix and find almost any kind of movie that I want to watch. Anyone who wants to complain about Netflix’s movie selection never lived in a house that only had 13 channels, 2 channels, or no TV at all.

    I had a friend who had 2 video games on an NES. I can’t remember what they were, because they both sucked. He beat them both, countless times, because that’s what he had. If we wanted to see a movie, we either went to the movie theater, or drove to the movie rental store and rented a VHS.

    I’m not trying to sound like an old timer, but things are continually getting better, and people are continually becoming more and more spoiled. I doubt that World War II vets would ever have a conversation about the current state of playing games, but we get to talk favorites in specific genres, and have debates about frame-rate. Yes, we’re spoiled. We need new and better all the time, even though older games can be just as much fun as long as the controls aren’t horrible. I’m happy to be able to have conversations like this, and I’m happy to have a backlog of video games to play, especially when some people don’t know what the hell a video game is.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for giving input. I agree we are spoiled when it comes to everything. I also remember having to go rent a movie, or even a video game. You don’t even have to go to the movies to watch new releases anymore. Its a crazy concept, of how much things have changed even in the years I’ve been alive.

      It makes me wonder what life will be like in another 25 years. Kids coming up in the next few generations will have it better than we have. That’s really an insane thought, considering all we have at the moment lol.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

