An overdose of sequels

I recently saw something that I thought was cool, I had never noticed it before. And come to think about it, I’ve never heard anyone else talk about it. In the original Toy Story, you may remember the pizza planet truck. It was also featured in the other Toy Story movies, if you payed attention. But here comes the surprise, it has been in every Pixar movie, except The Incredibles. Now it may be in there, but I’m not really sure, I’m not a big fan of it, and I’m not going to go watch it to see. So check the video out.

Other than that I wanted to talk about upcoming animated films. I keep an eye out to see what companies have planned. In the upcoming years we will see some sequels that are planned, as of now.

Pixar

  • Finding Dory- A sequel to Finding Nemo
  • Toy Story 4
  • Cars 3
  • The Incredibles 2

Dreamworks Animation

  • Kung Fu Panda 3
  • The Croods 2
  • How to Train Your Dragon 3
  • Madagascar 4
  • Puss in Boots 2
  • Shrek 5- This isn’t confirmed but CEO Jeffery Katzenberg has said the story will continue in the future.

Blue Sky Studios

  • Ice Age 5

Warner Bros. Animation

  • The Lego Movie 2
  • A few other Lego movies

Surprisingly Disney doesn’t have any that I could find. I find it sad with some of these. Toy Story 4? I thought the third one ended quite well, I see no need for another one. Shrek 5? The last one also ended well. I understand wanting sequels for things, but honestly I’m not seeing a lot of new ideas being thrown around.

I also realize that these movies are targeted to young kids mostly. Little kids could careless about story right? I see my little cousins watching these movies, and they laugh and giggle, not really caring about what story is being told. Only in the end remembering their favorite song from the film, and then driving you crazy after they sing it a million times.

Sequels in my eyes aren’t really doing the industry any good at this point. Experts keep claiming the industry is getting bigger, and doing better every year. Looking at margins, profits are around the same if not much more than a company’s last movie. The only exception here can be Frozen, for how well it actually done.

So why are these companies on a path that leads to a dead end? Of course some of these will do extremely well. The best company to look at for an example is Dreamworks, they are struggling bad. I don’t think it would be hard for some other company to come along and knock them out of the third spot, as long as they made something that was innovative, and new. But that’s the whole point of this post right?

Another good example is The Land Before Time. Remember how good the first few were? Then they drifted off into space, and it only makes you wonder what went wrong. I’m going to say sequels aren’t the problem here. New and fresh ideas are the problem and no where to be found really. Its like no one wants to take a risk. How can you though with kids? That’s the main problem, referring back to my earlier statement with my younger cousins. Deep down though, kids are smarter than they look.

You can often find fans of these movies (The older ones) complaining about how these films are under rated, don’t get that many Grammy nominees. You don’t have to look any further than actually taking a glimpse at the films. I find it quite frustrating at times, since I want to get into the industry. I often wonder if that’s a mistake, and I should go for video games, since in reality its more of a passion to me.

About crazysnake513

I'm currently 24, I love video games, and animation. I also love to sketch, and write poetry. I plan to maybe start college soon for animation, if all goes well. In the mean time, I'm working on my own animation project.
This entry was posted in Animation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An overdose of sequels

  1. D.T. Nova says:

    I think the reason they want to make sequels to Toy Story and Cars have more to do with how much merchandise they will sell than with the idea that the movies themselves will be more or less successful than original ones.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I understand that, and when looking at a business standpoint, it makes sense. But it further proves my point of being unoriginal, uninspired, and more if that’s what they are doing. Money does rule the world though, sadly.

      Like

Leave a Reply

