Sniper Elite V2

Best

As if I don’t have enough back logged games as it is, Xbox has been giving us free games for awhile now. The other day Sniper Elite V2 was up for grabs, I’ve never played the series, never really planned on it. But hey, WW2 + sniper + plus some stealth? = win for me? At first I remembered Sniper: Ghost Warrior, and I figured I was about to find myself in another game full of frustration. Lucky for me I was wrong.

I’ve always been a fan of history, and the era of 1939-1945 is one of my favorite things to read about. The story starts out as you going into Berlin, Germany to assassinate a Major-General who is trying to defect to the USSR. It then goes into the normal gaming direction of finding out a plan you must stop.

I enjoyed it, and I found it to be interesting. It isn’t deep, and I’m sure most players will find it uninteresting, or not even care about it. The most interesting thing to me was how the game references Operation Overcast, and Operation Paperclip. These are real events that actually occurred, yet again I’m not sure many care about it. So I’ll stay away from trying to give a history lecture as of now <– Insert evil, creepy, and boring teacher laugh.

The game does have its fair share of problems though. The gameplay is rather boring at times. The controls work well, until you get put into a close quarters situation. Thankfully you can carry three weapons, a sniper, SMG, and Pistol. Besides those you are equipped with grenades, trip wires, dynamite, and land mines. I found that the trip wires, and land mines could be well used, mainly to get your attention for enemies trying to ambush you.

The best part coming out of this is being able to use the sniper rifle, as it should be. The x-ray kill cam makes every kill worth it, and I never found it getting old seeing a bullet going through someones head, eye, or torso. What made this even better was having to factor in bullet drop, the wind, and bullet time, to slow events down.

The AI though seems too dumb at times, then other times too smart. I made some mistakes as walking right in front of some, but they never saw me. Then other times, they’d be shooting at me, when I never had a detection bar showing I was about to be seen. To further this I was spotted through walls a few times, once by a tank that wasn’t even close to me.

And the music gets old, it seems like it was mainly the same tune over and over. The single most fun thing about the game is taking on other snipers. They usually got the first shot one me, missing most of the time. In which I’d scramble to cover, trying to figure out where it came from. The textures added in with soldiers made everything seem like one, until you’d see the glimmer of their scoop.

Overall I had enough fun and enjoyment to make the game worth it, which was free lol. I’m not sure it’d be something I’d buy. However I see potential in the game for future games in the series. The third one is out, so I don’t know if its better or not. If your looking for something to pass time for a day or so, and you still play on 360 give it a shot.

About crazysnake513

I'm currently 24, I love video games, and animation. I also love to sketch, and write poetry. I plan to maybe start college soon for animation, if all goes well. In the mean time, I'm working on my own animation project.
This entry was posted in Gaming and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sniper Elite V2

  1. vahrkalla says:

    Good read 🙂 I also share a love for games set in different eras (barring the future), which is why I loved Assassin’s Creed II so much.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

