Pacific Data Images shuts down

For several blogs now, I’ve talked about the state of DreamWorks Animation. I don’t really have to keep going on about the problems the company is going through. Its a rough thing, the industry as a whole is tough. Considering Disney is Zeus, and their child Hercules is Pixar, they dominate the mainstream animation world. Would that make DreamWorks the Hades of this? I’m not even sure that is fair to use that, it just popped into my head.

Anyway, Pacific Data Images or PDI/DreamWorks, was bought and brought in 2000. I’m sure most people don’t know the name. But recently on the 22nd they closed the doors, no longer will they make another film. This is big news considering they make up around half of DreamWorks, give or take. This also brings the news of around 500 people losing their jobs. Considering how competitive the industry is, I hate that for them.

Luckily for most I don’t think competitors wouldn’t mind taking them in, if they have room. PDI has worked and released some good movies over the years, only struggling recently. The list of movies include:

  • Antz
  • Shrek
  • Shrek 2
  • Madagascar
  • Shrek the Third
  • Madagascar: Escape 2 Africa
  • Megamind
  • Madagascar 3: Europe’s Most Wanted
  • Mr. Peabody & Sherman

That’s a good amount of films, they also won best animated feature film for Shrek at the Oscar’s. And seven scientific and technical awards at the Academy’s. This bed for the question to be asked once again. Whats the future for DreamWorks? I’m in no way to say, we will of course see less movies from the studio. Longer waits between each film to the next.

Not everything is so bad right? DreamWorks will pick up the franchises they left, and continue with them. This is just another chapter closing, and new one beginning, we will just have to wait to see what the future holds. If worse comes to worse, at least we still have Shrek is love, Shrek is life. Ahhh, I feel sorry for any kid who runs into those videos. That’s a whole other topic/blog though lol.

About crazysnake513

I'm currently 24, I love video games, and animation. I also love to sketch, and write poetry. I plan to maybe start college soon for animation, if all goes well. In the mean time, I'm working on my own animation project.
This entry was posted in Animation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

