Nostalgia kick (MMORPGs)

Recently I’ve had certain titles bouncing around my head. Its funny because I haven’t been into any MMO for a long time. I thought I’d share a little history on a door that I’ve closed and don’t plan on going back to. Certain titles are huge like World of Warcraft, others small, but all have a good following in some way.

I’ve tried a lot of them over the years, World of Warcraft, Tera, Aion, D&D Online, LotR Online, Rift, Guild Wars, Everquest 1 & 2, Runescape, and a few more, that I can’t put a name on. Some of these I have spent a good deal of time in, and money, others I tried to get into, but couldn’t.

The really funny thing is my favorite one, which was also my first one. Runescape, may be surprising, since a lot of people trash it when comparing it to others. I can’t put my finger on it, but its the only one that keep me coming back. Any MMO possesses the ability to hook a player in many ways. The quest, exploring, combat leveling, PVP, skills leveling, and much more. Choose your poison, we all have one or several that we like.

I was introduced to this game back in middle school, during typing class. The teacher was old, didn’t move much, so we more or less did what we wanted on the computers. My friend who was beside me was playing Runescape, so I had to know more. After watching a little longer, I had an account and was on the game.

At the time Runescape 2 was only a few months old, and at this point, I really had no clue what an MMO truly was. It didn’t take long for my craving and love for RPG’s to kick in, I was hooked. I’m sure anyone who has played an MMO, can remember their first? Logging on you have so much to do, and not enough time to do it.

Do I level my character? Skills? Explore? Make money? You either set a path for yourself, or you go crazy like I did. I couldn’t figure out what to stick with. Heck, I felt like a boss when I killed my first NPC, which was a chicken lol.

After awhile though, you find yourself set in finding your own path. You start leveling your character, skills are slowly improving, and you’ve found some way to make money. But just like in real life, nothing is ever good enough. You need more of everything, no matter what it is. I primarily stuck with melee, I like the up and close battle.

As my character grew, I knew I needed better armor, weapons & shield, or weapon considering on my setup. This is where the game really hooked me, making money. A little fishing here, some woodcutting there, among other stuff. I remember finding out about some god armor which wasn’t nothing special, just more money and different colored trim.

I had to have it, and I did, at one point I two sets of it (Saradomin & Zamorak). This is what I’ve been thinking about lately. If I was younger I’d probably be on some type of MMO right now. Its funny how you think back to these types of things at certain times.

Any MMO that is able to pull off a so-so game, and gather good and loyal following is great. As I grow older though, I find that spare time gets shorter with each passing day. So any MMO is basically thrown out the door.

Do you play any MMO’s? Or have you in the past? If so let me know. I figured this would be a nice little topic, since it’s been on my mind lately.

About crazysnake513

I'm currently 24, I love video games, and animation. I also love to sketch, and write poetry. I plan to maybe start college soon for animation, if all goes well. In the mean time, I'm working on my own animation project.
This entry was posted in Gaming and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Nostalgia kick (MMORPGs)

  1. pollydactyl says:

    When I was in high school, I used to be really into one called Eternal Lands. I still go back to check in once in a while but I’m not into it as much anymore. I might try to get back into it though. Even though I played for years there was so much I didn’t do. My Mass Effect character is actually named after my character from Eternal Lands!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve heard of this one, I had a friend who use to play it a lot. It looks like fun, but I’ve never given it a shot. If I remember correctly, Eternal Lands launched around the same time Runescape did.

      Liked by 1 person

      • pollydactyl says:

        I don’t know anybody else who has heard of it! I have no idea when it came out or how I found it, but I played it because it was free and easy to hide from my parents when I was in high school.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I understand that. The game isn’t well known though, I don’t think its ever found a big following. Looking at their homepage, about 400 people are on it. Although a little over 200 are bots. I’ve never seen one keep track of bots, that’s interesting.

        Like

  2. Aether says:

    I don’t have much of a history with traditional MMOs, but when I was younger, I used to be really into MUDS. Think World of Warcraft as run through an interactive fiction interface. I stopped shortly after I started college, and never really went back. Just hard to find the time these days

    Liked by 1 person

  3. CutieRoo says:

    I use to be big into World of Warcraft but after 6 years of playing I had to quit because it really took a lot of my time and enabled a second job for me. I love the blizzard franchise and think they are amazing but I also want to explore other games. I did play everquest as well. That’s the game that got me I to MMORPGs

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s the big problems with MMOs for anyone, is the time. As they are never ending, and fresh content is being added all the time, its hard to keep up, while exploring other games. I also enjoyed Everquest quite a lot.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I used to play runescape as well. Never spent energy on exploring other MMORPGs because after runescape, I realized that it’s probably better to not expose yourself to the risk of getting hooked/addicted. Runescape was fascinating to me because of the sheer number of active online players, from all over the world, that were playing at any given time. It made for some great memories and some life-lessons (surprisingly) as well. The ultimate back draw of MMORPGs and for the players who play them is the potential that addiction is very possible. This addiction is common in MMORPGs because they are so vast and fresh-content is constantly released to keep the games never-ending (as you mentioned). Furthermore, they are equipped with various enticing features that grab at human desire to feel accomplished (there are constant-rewards/and level ups achieved by continual play) and the network/community/friendship one builds over time on the game (which only becomes stronger over time).

        Liked by 1 person

      • Nicely said, and all that is simply what got me hooked to these types of games. It is also what made me stop messing with them, as they took to much of my time.

        Like

Leave a Reply

