Reviews, Opinions, and Scores

Numbers 1-5, 1-10, 1-100, 1 star, 5 stars, numbers in this day and age are a big thing right? I was just on a site reading a review of The Order, which is a game that’s had my interest for a while. Little did I know, the review wasn’t the real entertainment, the comments provided that.

Reviews are a good thing, a simple way of informing a buyer or potential buyer, in this instance the quality of the game, duration, excitement, and whatever else the reviewer decides to note. Now, how important is the actual review? Ask yourself that, give your opinion out loud to yourself, or me doesn’t matter.

The problem lies usually at the bottom of the review, score=???. Why does everyone think a number or star is important? Honestly, if you’ve ever wrote a review, what makes you want to put a score on the product? I’ve been writing on this blog surprisingly going on a year almost. I’ve talked about plenty of games, but I’ve never slapped a score anywhere.

My big experience started in 2008, I was apart of Gamespot. Since I enjoyed reading reviews so much, I thought why not write reviews. I personally enjoyed it a lot, mainly because I love video games, and I wanted to share my opinions, and experiences about them.

Gamespot also gives users little badges, for doing this, or that, they have a lot. They used to have one for users, top 100 reviewers and top 500 reviewers. I landed myself on around the 200 mark before I stopped writing. An important achievement? Not at all, but I was younger, and I was proud of it.

I wrote 185 reviews before I stopped, I still had the enjoyment, but the community ruined it. I received hate mail from users, you gave that game too high of a score, that one too low, you suck as a reviewer lol. After awhile it got old, and I honestly couldn’t understand it. I tried on other sites, but I’d already been broken at that point.

The sad thing is I never received anything for a good review, except from staff. Anything else was all about that score. Sadly, I couldn’t publish anything without putting a score on it, so I gave up trying.

It makes me wonder how many people actually read reviews? I’m talking about reading it all the way through, or at least skimming through it. The thought of caring about a score so much so is really damaging to any product. I hate that really, its quite sad, even more when you consider trolls, fanboys, getting paid to alter, or just generally hate a company.

After all a review is nothing more than an opinion, as each review will differ. Thus the true score lies within the review. That’s what truly can capture someone, giving them the real information they need. Even then, that could all be wrong. Once you play a game, then you will know if you hate it, like it, or love it.

I love Metal Gear Solid so much to a point, it’s rather ridiculous. But not everyone can say the same, I’ve heard others trash it, and that’s fine. But I’ve also got a few games that revived little to no recognition, which I love to play.

I love reading reviews, I read them on multiple sites, including here, I even watch video reviews. The problem isn’t reviews, I love hearing others opinions, even if they aren’t the same as mine. The problem lies with scores, and people taking them seriously.

What are your opinions on this? I know a lot of you following me write reviews, I read them all the time. It could just be the different communities though, everyone on here seems pretty mature. Which is a big reason why I love this place.

About crazysnake513

I'm currently 24, I love video games, and animation. I also love to sketch, and write poetry. I plan to maybe start college soon for animation, if all goes well. In the mean time, I'm working on my own animation project.
This entry was posted in Gaming and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Reviews, Opinions, and Scores

  1. It honestly never even occurred to me to give scores to the games I’m playing. Maybe it’s because I’m going back and playing older games that already received good scores. Also, I don’t know how I would rate something like Mass Effect and then Pokemon on the same scale! I love them both, but how can you compare two games that are so different like that?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Prof.mcstevie says:

    I need a score to size up a games technical qualities and a persons feel for the overall experience. Most issues I find come when we don’t know the context of the numbers, name the reviewers who ever game games a 3 or 1, then we have context. Instead it is 7/10 eh its alright because that is where “alright” games seem to keep going.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve seen a few games get a score of 3 maybe a few 2, never a 1 that I can remember. As far as technical qualities go, it can be two sided. If a game releases with a ton of glitches & bugs, it can still get a high score, based around said name it has.

      I appreciate game reviews, but a 7 doesn’t mean a bad game at all. I’ve payed tons of things rated a 6 even 5, that I really enjoyed. Which in the end comes down to the overall experience that reviewer had with the game.

      I guess the different communities out there is what kills it for me. Thanks for throwing your input out there, I appreciate it.

      Like

      • Prof.mcstevie says:

        If a game gets bugs and glitches, technical side gets a miserable score, while if we have a personal score separate we can see how it measures up even with all those issues for the reviewer.

        7 certainly doesn’t mean bad, but for the most part any game that doesn’t stand out particularly usually goes there, I reckon it should come with the tag” get it in a sale”.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Fair enough, I agree, thanks again for sharing.

        Like

  3. Red Metal says:

    For the most part, I find scores helpful to find a good game, though I find it baffling as to why some sites feel the need to divide their scores into decimals (e.g. giving a game an 8.9 when they could just round it up to a 9). Also, I think another problem is that most quality games are given scores anywhere in the 8.5-10 range while mediocre games are given scores in the 7-8.5 range, with bad games given a lower score. There are 10 numbers, but below a 6, they become progressively interchangeable. This is why when I review games, I don’t use decimal points and I try to use all of the numbers. That way, when I give score of an 8 or higher, it actually means something and a 3/10 from me is more of a D grade than an F (2/10 and 1/10 are scores I give to games that have glaring technical problems, though because I review competently-made games, they likely won’t see much use).

    That said, I can see why you wouldn’t think highly of such a system. I myself have run into situations where I was blown away by a game that has an 82 on Metacritic (999), and thoroughly unimpressed with one that holds a 95 on the same site (The Last of Us). Scores can be helpful for finding new games, but, in the end, its quality is what you make of it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Aether says:

    Generally, the only time I really bother with review scores are when I’m looking at impulse buying a game I haven’t really heard of. If I find something new and vaguely interesting on a Steam sale, or am on the fence on a Humble Bundle, or something like that.

    Otherwise, I value the actual content of the reviews so much more. All reviews consist of are opinions, and I’ve yet to find the reviewer whose viewpoints match mine so completely that I’ll trust nothing more than their numerical evaluation. Reading and learning about the various contents and features of the game is so much more valuable to me.

    Generally, if I’m interested in a game but needing more information before making a purchasing decision, I’ll single out a few different reviews and work out what aspects of the game have been picked out as significant by several different people. From there, I ignore the end score entirely and base my decision on what all the reviewers agree the game has going on. I’ve found my opinion doesn’t generally match up with the professional reviewer’s as to what’s important in a game’s quality, so the score often leads me astray. For example, while I enjoy pretty visuals, a game’s resolution and graphical quality ranks pretty low on the scale of what impacts my enjoyment of a game, while it seems to have a lot more importance to most reviewers. Likewise, if a game has poor controls, I generally view that a lot more negatively then many others. Conversely, I’ll always appreciate a great story, an interesting art style, and new and unique gameplay features, but those are often hard to quantify when it comes to tallying things up.

    And of course, as Shinynewgamer pointed out, trying to compare some games on the same scale is like trying to compare apples and your local used car dealership. If the new release of Call of Bang-bangs scores better in amalgam than the new release of Battlewar, that means something. Call of Bang-bangs scoring better than storytelling-focused action-lite The Walking Plot? Not so much.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well said, I agree with everything you said. I do find it interesting that you single out reviews and compare them. It makes sense to do so though, and I’m going to do that, it seems like a better system than I got lol. Thanks for sharing.

      Like

  5. Pingback: LMG’s Internet Buffet – “Me, Myself, and You” | LMG comic updates

  6. I use ratings as a way to judge whether or not I want to look into something with more detail. It might seem like an injustice at times, but there is a lot of content for people to consume. If I stopped to read the synopsis of every movie on Netflix that I’ve never heard of, my wife is going to take away the remote and hit me on the head with it.

    That being said, I love reading the reviews, for movies, video games, books, etc. The first thing I notice about any medium, is the cover. Then, if a rating is available, I take note. If the rating is mediocre, but the content still looks like something I might like, I read the synopsis. For movies, this is where I make the decision to watch, or not. With games, I will then read reviews, watch videos, and maybe even check out some portions of a “let’s play” to see if the game is something I want.

    By the way, I’m a new subscriber to your blog, and it’s very good. I’m sorry to hear that some people on the internet are super-haters to anyone who reviews products. It’s pretty sad, considering that anyone who does a review is helping potential consumers. Occasionally I do some reviews, but I never post a score because my “reviews” are a part of my ongoing blog about accomplishing my backlog gaming goal. If I like a game, I say that I like it. If it has some problems, I say what I don’t like. I’d love for you to check it out sometime. I’m still new, so I enjoy making new friends who enjoy the same things I’m interested in!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think my general routine with any new game is to read the review, or watch a video review, then watch some gameplay. I always check the rating, but even with a low rating, I’ve found some great stuff, that I might have passed on. Its all a very hard thing to put your finger on, because we all have different ways of doing something. I thank you though for sharing your view on the matter, that’s ultimately what I wanted from readers.

      Another thank you for the sub, that also means a lot. I always enjoy meeting new people, and I will check out your blog.

      Like

Leave a Reply

