The VoZ: New Zart & Trip

Since I’ve gone back to the drawing board with the Voyage of Zart. It gives me time to stop and look at what I already have. While at the same time, stopping to think what direction I want to take things in. As much as I want a finished episode to throw at you, its important for me to not let things happen like it did last time.

Lol, whats a mess. It is a prime example of what rushing can do. Not all was lost though, the whole thing was a valuable learning experience for me. I am glad to show you the new Zart and Trip though.

Both characters are modeled, no sculpting was done with them. And no textures are used at the moment, just materials. I can’t say I’m completely finished with them, as I still ain’t happy. But I’m going with what I have for the moment, it will give me time to see how things work with them.

First up is Trip.

Trip

^ This was him last time lol, I wasn’t sure what I wanted to do with him. And well, we got a ball with a light in it.

Now we have this.

trip

You can see the major improvement of this coming from a ball of light right?

trip2

Though I can’t say for sure I’m happy with his arms or the lower part of his body. Improvements are sure to come at some point, when I figure out what it is I want to do.

trip3

Though, I can say I am happy with most of what you see here. Modeling characters are still a new thing to me. As I started out just modeling environments, and that was pretty much it. So with some more time, things will improve a good deal.

Now to Zart, last time this is what you had.

Zart

The little fellow looks like a lump of clay. I still like it, but he had to retire, the concept is nice though.

This is the new Zart.

Zart

A much bigger improvement in my eyes, but also a much needed one. The first thing is, I always have trouble with arms and legs. I hate doing them, as you can see they need fixed. Or rather the arms need some tweaking. The hands need to be improved bad. The legs are fine to me, but the feet need some work.

Zart 1

I will say one of the biggest things I like about this one is the colors. I wasn’t able to pull it off last time. This time though, I think they look good, and go well together.

Zart 2

Neither of them are rigged yet, which I plan on doing soon. But this is what I have so far, and I’m glad to show you all.

Since Trip has only went through two transitions so far, I though it’d be nice to show all the concepts of Zart. It ain’t many, but if your like me you like to see how things change.

Thanks for reading!

Zart Concept(First Zart concept)

Zart Concept1(Second Zart concept)

Zart(Third Zart concept)

Zart(Fourth & current Zart)

About crazysnake513

I'm currently 24, I love video games, and animation. I also love to sketch, and write poetry. I plan to maybe start college soon for animation, if all goes well. In the mean time, I'm working on my own animation project.
This entry was posted in Animation, The Voyage of Zart and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The VoZ: New Zart & Trip

  1. Aether says:

    I’d say that’s a really big improvement with Zart. It feels like he’s showing a lot more character now, even though I’ve yet to see that model in motion.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank! I’ve still got to rig both of them. When I do though, I’m about positive some changes will have to be made.

      Especially with the arms, all apart of the learning experience.

      Like

  2. megaeggz says:

    These are very good I can see a massive improvement πŸ˜€ maybe just go for a one minute episode keep it simple at first? Nicely done

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! Yea, I plan on making it short the first episode, or first couple at least. Keep it simple, that way I can work things out as I go along.

      That still doesn’t stop the huge amount of work that can go into a minute film lol.

      Like

Leave a Reply

