That old Silent Hill

SH1Logo

A lot of Silent Hill fans out there? I remember playing the first Silent Hill, and falling in love with it. The same thing happened with the second and third release, all three first games are some of my favorite horror games.

Over the course since that time we players still have certain moments that have stuck with us. Each fan has their favorite game in the series, along with enemies. Silent Hill for me was the only other horror series, that could rival Resident Evil in a good way.

I enjoyed the monsters, and the meanings behind everything. The iconic Pyramid Head, who has become the series mascot basically. To seeing all the different aspects of Silent Hill, which has been great over all these years.

Looking back now, its interesting to see two series (Resident Evil & Silent Hill) that rise to become a powerhouse in horror, but slowly wither down, and fade into nothing important anymore. Thus only true fans hold onto something like this, the ones who are considered the hardcore fans, or dedicated, what ever you want to call them. We see this all the time, Duke Nukem, Half Life, Doom. People enjoy something they tend to hold onto it.

This brings Silent Hills into the picture, the Silent Hill to be worked on by the minds of Hideo Kojima, and Guillermo del Toro, which also featured Norman Reedus. You know that Walking Dead star that has been in several dozen films, yet you can’t name any of them lol.

The true sad fact is, a lot of people including me, got hyped up over nothing. A playable demo, that was said to be nothing like the game would have been. But lets face it, the series has progressively went down hill since SH4: The Room. But we will never know now will we? I’m sure we will see another Silent Hill in the future, just not by this hyped team everyone loves.

The hope though is and was the great thing about this. Only to tease fans for a little bit, it would be like Gabe Newell announcing Half Life 3, only to cancel it a minute  later. This is life though, and shows how the industry can be. It also proves a game is never a guaranteed thing until it actually hits the store shelf’s.

Have you ever had this happen to a game you was looking forward to? I know I’ve seen it happen on several occasions over the years.

About crazysnake513

I'm currently 24, I love video games, and animation. I also love to sketch, and write poetry. I plan to maybe start college soon for animation, if all goes well. In the mean time, I'm working on my own animation project.
This entry was posted in Gaming and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to That old Silent Hill

  1. Hi there! I’ve seen the Silent Hill movie and found it scary. Never been into the games though. It is only recently I’ve embarked on my journey into horror and zombie video games. I’ve heard that the Silent Hill game on PS2 is a nightmare (very scary), but never tried it myself.

    Like

    • What? You only recently began traveling into the horror world? Bro, you are literally in for a treat.

      The Silent Hill series has been great for me, especially the first three games in the series. It’s worth checking out.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Aether says:

    I was really disappointed to hear that Silent Hills was cancelled. I was really skeptical of it at first, but PT showed a sense of subtlety and design that I was quite surprised by. I ended up getting more excited for Silent Hills than I have been for an upcoming game in a while. And yet, it’s not to be. Feels like there was a lot going on behind the scenes with that project, that led it down this road.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. vahrkalla says:

    Great read 🙂 I think the flagship series you mention like Resi and Silent Hill fade away because they are in always such a hurry to release a new title. I’m looking forward to what the future brings for Horror, because the Dead Space series has come to pass and it’s only a matter of time before something else takes the spotlight.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

