The competitive multiplayer black hole

Winter_2004_DreamHack_LAN_Party

Multiplayer in video games have come a long way. At some point if you’ve ever been into games, you’ve probably found yourself apart of it. That could have been playing on the old days of playing on the same TV with GoldenEye on N64. Or playing co-op in games like Gears of War, or Halo. Or playing the multiplayer in those games, to things like MMOs or even Muds.

It comes in all kinds of varieties, with just about every form of game. It has come along way though since I was a little kid. I remember playing the original Mario on NES, and taking turns with my cousins when we died. But over the last decade it has blown up, so much that some games reveal their multiplayer first. Everyone seems to love it, or has at one point.

maxresdefault

Several things make it great for me, and has since I first started it. I enjoy playing with people all around the world. I enjoy how hours can pass and you not really notice it. This is something that has the potential to draw a person out of the world and put them in another with people from all races and backgrounds.

That also at times brings in problems, you have the racist people, the sexist, the trolls, and every walk of life. Since I myself haven’t ran into much of that, except for the usual cussing messages I receive over beating someone. I don’t want to focus on that, instead I want to shed light on the better side or multiple sides.

When I first started getting into mulitplayer, I was the noob, that everyone starts out as. I had played games for years, but still couldn’t handle this world I had walked into. What a world it truly was, I got schooled for awhile until I got tired of it. This got me wondering what I was doing wrong.

Talking with others online, and taking in tips I could find on all my favorite forums. I started to learn certain strategies. I had to try certain things, to see if this would work or if it wouldn’t. Over time, I developed my own style to play, and it ended up working out for the best.

This lead me to become more aware of the things I was doing. The people at the top was what I wanted to become. I often wondered how they would run a whole game going positive, without many deaths. This brought along a nature of being competitive, and finding a side of me I never had much.

At one point, I started playing competitively, I linked up with a team. Then later found myself in a clan, and went through several over the years. Every day I’d start my system up only to grind, to try and better myself. I did, so much it got to a point where I’d win most matches. This game with ridiculous win/loss ratios, and kill/death ratios, that everyone seems to be searching for.

I had made it to that spot, then found out I didn’t want it. Lol, this wasn’t the gaming life I wanted. I had stopped playing the single player in most games, but most importantly I was killing the form of entertainment I loved. Besides, how many have the actual potential to make it in competitive gaming? This again was in the earlier days of MLG, and it looked even slimmer back then.

I ultimately fell out of clans, even teams, or being a try hard as used to get called. This turned me into a random player amongst other random players for the most part. I wasn’t one of those who bragged, or acted like a scumbag. I’ve always liked the chill side of things, have a good game and try your best. That still didn’t save me from entering the black hole of the competitive scene.

I’m going to cut this one right here, as it went in a different direction than I started it as. I will be posting another blog on my experiences of being a random though. In the meantime, you can let me know of your experiences of multiplayer. Have you ever been a competitive player? Ever gotten yourself into the spot I was in? Share your stories.

About crazysnake513

I'm currently 24, I love video games, and animation. I also love to sketch, and write poetry. I plan to maybe start college soon for animation, if all goes well. In the mean time, I'm working on my own animation project.
This entry was posted in Gaming and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The competitive multiplayer black hole

  1. Aether says:

    I enjoy multiplayer as a social experience. With few exceptions (mostly Left 4 Dead, for whatever reason) I don’t really enjoy playing with random strangers. I enjoy it when I’m going up with or against friends or family, but I feel so much pressure when dealing with those I don’t already have a relationship, so it’s not so much fun for me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Going at it alone was what this blog was originally going to be, but I got this instead.

      My next one will deal with my experiences of being a lone wolf, if that’s what you want to call it.

      Like

  2. Pingback: The Lone Wolf in Multiplayer | Explore Animation

Leave a Reply

