The Lone Wolf in Multiplayer

Destiny-20

In my post The competitive multiplayer black hole, I talked about how I got sucked into the world of being competitive. I went from wanting to learn, getting a good grasp on it, then my interest waned. It has been that way for awhile, everything changes once you stop being apart of a team, clan, group, or whatever you may call it.

Going into a game with randomly selected players can be just as much fun. You find that over time you meet a lot of new people, from around the world. This leads to creating new online friendships, that again leads to good times. This world, just like the real world has its fair share of problems. You’ll get cussed out, yelled at, you hear racist things, sexist things. You know your regular I can do it, simply because I ain’t in front of you type of people.

This in itself leads to, for me at least, a lot of funny situations. I can’t help but laugh at some of the things I hear, and for that, thank you. Besides this, being a random amongst randoms tends to bring a lot of other things up. Some can be frustrating, and could simply be eliminated being in a group, others are random silly things.

When you get into a game, you tend to put a lot of time into it. This chunk of time gives you the chance to see a lot of people. The biggest one is ultimately running into a group who are friends, which leads to you getting dominated the whole game. This also shows how people dislike losing, you’re sure to lose about your whole team within a minute or two.

Quitting is a big one, a lot of people back out for many reasons, we all have done it. I understand it, but in certain games, like the older Halo games, it can get frustrating. When you find yourself in a 2 vs 4, or even a 1 vs 4 situation, it can be maddening. Adding to this, you may find one or more of your team is afk. Being away from your keyboard or controller is simply annoying, especially if it goes the whole match.

These few things are enough for most randoms to quit, and keep searching until they find a good match they like. Like I said this could all be avoided with a team of players you know. Even then the tables get turned on them, finding others teams can be hard at times. So they end up with randoms, and the other team backs out, or they get a easy match.

The biggest problem for me is trying to find a good objective match. I’ve always enjoyed it, and still do. I often find matches that everyone just wants to kill, to try and get their k/d ratio up. This leads to the game going until the timer stops, and not much fun. Until you figure out clever ways of getting the objective, and fooling the other players.

You often have your trolls, that will just run around the map not trying. Killing their self, or if permitted killing their own team members. With the rise of Youtube, and how easy it is to record gameplay, its gotten worse. I can’t complain much though, I watch those videos all the time and get a good laugh from them.

The lone wolf of multiplayer is a special breed, that can bring about many situations. Some funny, and others frustrating. All in all though, it keeps things interesting at times. Along with getting to simply see how each person can be good or bad, and showing how each person has a different play style. Which is nice, it shows gaming brings a persons unique personality to a virtual world, that most other medias can’t do.

About crazysnake513

I'm currently 24, I love video games, and animation. I also love to sketch, and write poetry. I plan to maybe start college soon for animation, if all goes well. In the mean time, I'm working on my own animation project.
This entry was posted in Gaming and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Lone Wolf in Multiplayer

  1. Riley says:

    What are you playing?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Red Metal says:

    I like it when multiplayer games have those scenarios where they allow 3 vs. 1 situations, but either give the solo player a separate goal from the other three or make that person’s character more powerful – sort of like in the Mario Party series. I think that’s a feature that needs to be in more games; with a little imagination, it can make for some interesting matches.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

