Throwback Gems: Def Jam: Fight for NY

DefJamFightForNY_01

The Def Jam series has seen three releases over the years. For me personally, Fight for NY was my favorite one. This game has in the past wasted many of hours for me. Fight for NY is not a game for everyone. First, you need to like a fighting game, second you will need to like rap & hip hop.

AKI Corporation now known as Syn Sophia has never been known as a big developer. They have created nice little games like WWF No Mercy, and other good wrestling games in the 90s. Yet, over the years, this particular Def Jam has stuck out to me.

Being released in 2004, I was still in my young teenage years. This was a time in my life, that rap was big to me. It was really the only thing I listened to at the time. Fight for NY is driven by this industry. The game features characters such as: Snoop Dogg, Method Man, Ludacris, Xzibit, Busta Rhymes, and others.

I’ve never been big on fighting games, as I’m not that good at them. You know that button masher? Yep, that is me lol. For me, what made the game fun was being able to use environments or the surrounding crowd, to do damage. It gave the game that hardcore wrestling feel.

Adding in creating your own character, and being able to customize them to the look of a rapper. Again though, nothing special is to be seen here, the game isn’t a must play. The story isn’t nothing special. If you like people like Snoop Dogg, then its interesting to see them put into the game, into a story created, just for this.

Comparing the game to any other fighting game, you will likely pick the other over this. This is of course a big factor into why the series never did take off. That, and the fact, it isn’t going to appeal to a big crowd. Even a hardcore fighting or brawler fan will turn away if they hate rap or hip hop music.

If that hasn’t turned you away already, then it would be well worth it venturing into the story at least once. Waiting after, you can play up to four players in a verses mode. Adding to extra tournaments, that will reward you with in game items, if you complete them.

Def Jam: Fight for NY is still a game I can set down and play when I get the urge too. It isn’t for everyone, but the ones it is for, you can find some nice enjoyment out of the game. This leads it to being a nice little gem looking back on it.

About crazysnake513

I'm currently 24, I love video games, and animation. I also love to sketch, and write poetry. I plan to maybe start college soon for animation, if all goes well. In the mean time, I'm working on my own animation project.
This entry was posted in Gaming and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

