Jumping into Gotham City

Batman-Arkham-Knight2

At this point in time, it has been a little over a week since Batman: Arkham Knight has released. I put down Shadow of Mordor and Halo for this, as I’ve enjoyed the series up to this point. Seeing as the game is still new and fresh on the shelf’s, I’ll stay away from spoilers.

First booting up the game I found myself paying a lot of attention to visuals. Batman and the whole city of Gotham looks fantastic. This all includes the little droplets of rain trickling down the suit. The same thing can be said for every other character in the game.

If you’ve ever played any of the other games you will find yourself right at home with the controls. It was easy to get back into even though it had been awhile since I’d played the last one. With this, everything still feels fresh, and even more well tuned than before. Making fighting exhilarating, and so much fun pulling off combos, while trying to dodge incoming hits.

Sadly I don’t feel like the game manages to make a leap like we saw going from Arkham Asylum to Arkham City. This isn’t a bad thing, as the game is still fantastic, but doesn’t manage nothing big in the form of new. With the exception of introducing us to the Batmobile.

Anyone keeping up with the game has probably heard mixed reactions to the Batmobile. Its exciting to see it in action, fun to drive, and truly makes you feel invincible while using it. The down side to this, most criminals act like cowards while using it. It doesn’t take long to see everything you will mostly be challenged by that could possibly be a threat to you, while using it. Mostly it is highly over used to the point I found it repetitive and was tired of using it.

Too much of the game is centered around it, that I think it took away from the rest of the game. Less time doing this could have been focused into refining and inventing better things instead. Not everyone will view this the same, I’ve heard plenty of opinions of why people like or dislike the Batmobile.

The biggest thing for me though, since Arkham Asylum was and still is story. I’ve found it amazing each game how Rocksteady has pulled off such astounding stories each game. Arkham Knight is no different, as it keeps you wanting to see more, and find out what will happen next.

Arkham Knight introduces us to a Batman who may of lost a long war against those he has always prevailed against. At each turn I felt I was slowly losing my grasp on Gotham, with not much hope in regaining control of the city. This is great to see, but at the same time frustrating and sad to see the hero this way. Then again this is all what makes it so great, and shows the greatness of this form of media.

The story does have a few flaws though, maybe big depending on how you look at it. The Arkham Knight, the new big bad guy in town, who defiantly plays his role well by the way. Rocksteady missed a huge flaw in a way they tell the story with this character. As if you really pay attention, you will know who he is before it is even revealed. This huge mistake as I’m going to call it, is a miss on a big opportunity to do more for the character than they did.

Don’t let this disappoint you, as it didn’t me. Something way better takes its place, in a way I personally didn’t expect it to. I’m not sure if Rocksteady meant for this part of the story to really be the big twist. Or then again this could have been the main focus, and what makes the twist that is the Arkham Knight so disappointing, as it is so much better.

In the end this is the first game of the series I completed 100%, as its well worth it to do so. As doing that, you get a little something more, if you play the game, I implore you to do just that. This will lead you to complete all the side missions as well, which are also a worth at looking at, as it just expands the fun you have with the game.

Playing through series I find I always want to compare it to the previous game/games. This one was no different. Arkham City was my favorite, and still is by a little margarine. This all comes down to one thing for me, it seemed more varied. Arkham Knight could have easily outdone this if not for so much emphasis on the Batmobile.

About crazysnake513

I'm currently 24, I love video games, and animation. I also love to sketch, and write poetry. I plan to maybe start college soon for animation, if all goes well. In the mean time, I'm working on my own animation project.
This entry was posted in Gaming and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Jumping into Gotham City

  1. earth2bellas says:

    Good to know! The Hub has been drooling over this one but we were kinda nervous to buy…the last one was awful. The “thugs” just had the worst dialogue lol. Dumb complaint I guess but we take pride in artful cursing. Watching the new one played on Twitch it seemed to have much better writing though. I’ll pass this post on to him. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for sharing your opinions about this game. I like Batman; TV shows, movies, comics, cartoons, but I never was interested in playing the video games. This one looks pretty damn good, though.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

