What makes a story for you?

Asking someone what makes a story for them can obviously come with many answers. This like so many other things comes down to one thing. Our great nature as humans to have this ability. An ability to great, that it sets us apart from others, and one which makes us unique.

Just asking about a story really opens up a huge horizon for answers. Movies, games, books, poems, pictures, drawings, even blogs. If you take a look here on WP, it want take long to find that creativity. So many bloggers tell reality, fiction, fantasy, or what ever makes your brain crave more. This natural ability is again what makes humans great.

The opinions I seek to find is simple.

What makes a story for you?

What breaks it for you?

What brings you back?

As I grow older with each passing day, I find that I try to evolve my skills. As each of you do. In doing that, I’m really by myself a lot, other than work. A dead end job doesn’t give me the needs I want though. People are too negative, and worry to much about the little bit of cash they grind to get.

If you take a step back, and daze upon the Earth with a different set of eyes. You could easily make the connection with most daily workers and zombies. Brain dead, no life within them, most wasting their life doing nothing.

Take that, twist it a bit, and most of you could come up with a nice little twisted story for people to enjoy.

I look back at my favorite movies, books, games, and everything else. Its hard to see a connection when you mash all of it together. I like a wide range of media from action, to drama.

You again try and find what really makes a story for you. This takes you to a place where you pick things to pieces. You eventually find whats left is only what you truly love.

For example, my favorite stories from books are Harry Potter. Games is Metal Gear Solid. Looking at both of those, you can probably not see any connection.

I realize that for me, I want a universe full of knowledge to take in. So much so, that when someone talks about it, I want to throw out something only hardcore fans will know. This is the connection Harry Potter and Metal Gear Solid share, a universe. Go ahead, throw other greats in there, Lord of the Rings, Star Wars, Halo, it doesn’t really matter.

Having great characters, plots, what ever it may be is a must. To hook someone to a point, that they seek more based on the story created by you though, is truly amazing. Adding to that amazement, is that the creator would/will go to that point, of creating more content, for the ones who would want it.

See one day you and I will die, that’s pretty much promised. Things we create doesn’t, unless you destroy it. I think that, at least for me personally is the biggest payoff when creating things.

Have you ever found an old piece that you created a long time ago? I found some poems, and short stories not long ago from middle/high school. It is incredible to see something like that, showing what was in your mind at the point, that is now your own history. It also does a great job at showing how far you have come off the years, granted you stuck with it.

All of this still comes down for me looking for your opinion on stories. Things you like/dislike. As I go on trying to create what I’m trying to, I want to hear opinions. Its easy to create something for yourself, as it usually sounds good to you. This isn’t always the best thing when trying to get others to like your work.

Granted you can’t capture they eyes and minds of every individual. As nice as it would be, it isn’t possible. This doesn’t stop one from trying to get everyone though.

I’d love to hear your opinions. Doesn’t matter if its about stories from books, movies, games, comics, Anime, it can be anything. Just highlight what you like and dislike from your perspective.

About crazysnake513

I'm currently 24, I love video games, and animation. I also love to sketch, and write poetry. I plan to maybe start college soon for animation, if all goes well. In the mean time, I'm working on my own animation project.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to What makes a story for you?

  1. I tend to love stories that have an ensemble cast, with characters that have realistic flaws and different backgrounds. Good character development is also something I enjoy a lot. While plot is really important, I think good characters are even more important. With good characters, you can make any situation interesting just by how they interact. Some of my favorite stories are Avatar: The Last Airbender, Avatar: Legend of Korra, Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings, Steven Universe, Mass Effect 1 and 2 ( still need to play 3!), and so many other things but I don’t want to keep going on and on.

    Liked by 4 people

    • Thank you for this, and I like your views. Mass Effect is an absolutely great story to throw out there. Character development is another thing to me at least, is something great to experience. All the hard work put in by the creator is shown through the whole process, and really shows their love for the creation.

      Again thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. earth2bellas says:

    I agree with shinynewgamer…well thought out characters are essential. Readers like to feel like you really know them, inside and out. I love an author who does their research too; it really shows. I think that adds up to readers love a genuine story…one the writer truly cares about. They pick up on that stuff.

    Are you on deviantart? There are tons of writers there and you can get in on a community, which is priceless IMO.

    I’m using only an iPhone to view this blog and it’s tough to follow anyone closely…the app feed jumbles you up. But I’d love to see what your working on! Good luck to you! Looking forward to seeing your work (:

    Liked by 2 people

  3. megaeggz says:

    I lost most of my old stuff from freewebs etc from when I was younger. It’s shit. Make back ups man!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Greg Long says:

    I agree with everything said so far ☺ A really good story gets me emotionally engaged. I don’t have to like any of the characters but it does help.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Interesting that you don’t have to like any of the characters, but can still get engaged with the story. I myself find it hard to get into the story if I can’t make some sort of connection with characters.

      Still this is the kind of opinion, and response I’m looking for. Everyone is different, and its nice to see the different views. Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Riley says:

    Just look at the top Genres of movie making. Comedy, Action Adventure, Drama, Horror, Scifi, Musical, Childrens, Westerns, Criterion, Educational/Documentary. Within this spectrum you are found to find a good movie with a good story. I have found that a nice blend of all these aspects can make for a great story. The one thing any story really needs is a good story teller. Without this the most interesting story can become very quickly boresome. With it and some simple building blocks the story will soon start a fire in the audience leaving them wanting more at every twist and turn. I was on a matrix kick about a month ago and wanted to experience other movies with a similar twist. One of the top recommendations was Dark City. Although similar I just did not find it to meet my expectations after watching Matrix and researching for likeness. Because they were similar I bargained that the similarity in story might make for a good thriller movie. It simply just didnt do it for me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for your view on the matter.

      I find when I really like something, say a movie. When I watch something similar, I want to compare the two. This brings in sometimes making one of them the lesser, with me not liking it as much. Or not liking it at all, which could be a bad thing to even do. As I’m sure if I hadn’t done this in the first place, I may have liked the movie lol.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. vahrkalla says:

    For me the most telling and touching stories, like what I find to be the most touching acting, is the humility and tangibility of them. Plots and characters that could actually become (or could have been in case of medieval fantasy) a reality are what makes me invested in the characters. This is why I tend to turn away from some generic action movies, because the ubiquity of fortunate conveniences detaches me from the creator’s world.

    One of my most prized possessions is my copy of Watchmen signed by Dave Gibbons. That book looked into the fractured, fragile souls of heroes, making them human, limited, and infinitely more fascinating. It really felt like I was one of them.

    As one of my heroes George RR Martin said, “We’ve all seen the movies where the hero is in trouble; he’s surrounded by 20 people… but you know he’s [going to] get away, [because] he’s the hero, and you don’t really feel any fear for him. I want my readers, and I want my viewers to be afraid when my characters are in danger. I want them to be afraid to turn the next page because the next character may not survive it” – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ulUBDu_97z8

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, for all of this!

      The last paragraph, really hits hard. George RR Martin really hit it on the head. Most of the time people react negative towards this type of story. According to what it may be. Seeing how he has pulled it off is amazing though, and I enjoy seeing that.

      Again thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Red Metal says:

    I would have to say that what makes a story for me would be a good balance between the plot and the characters who partake in it. Relying too heavily on either is too big of a gamble. For instance, if a narrative is almost entirely character driven, but you don’t like the characters, then that means the plot isn’t interesting enough to salvage it. I also like it when stories have a good balance between being intellectually stimulating and being down-to-earth so that it isn’t pretentious. It’s the reason I like games such as BioShock: Infinite and Nine Hours, Nine Persons, Nine Doors.

    There are two major aspects that can break a story for me. The first is when a story takes on a very misanthropic tone. I realize it’s sort of a staple of serious fiction, but I firmly believe it’s a trope that needs to be retired. I don’t think there is a single new direction you can go by playing it straight anymore. Consequently, I see the use of the trope as an admission of creative bankruptcy. What’s worse are stories that use this trope while also expecting you to find sympathy with the main characters who are invariably human. So humans are inherently evil, but we’re to make exceptions for the ones that aren’t? It’s because of that mentality that I think The Last of Us is a bad game; the main character of that game comes across as an unlikable hypocrite and the narrative itself is extremely two-faced as a result.

    The other is when the ending is horrible. I remember talking about this with Aether, and our conclusion was that the ending is one of the only things, if not the only thing, about a story that can retroactively lower the quality of a story by turning positive memories sour. It’s the reason one of my personal rules when reviewing games that the highest score a game can hope to get if it has a lousy ending is a 6/10. It’s happened with at least twice so far with System Shock 2 and Mother 3. I don’t consider either of those games classics like the rest of the internet because as good as they are, their endings are horrible. The only difference between the two is that with System Shock 2, the ending was unequivocally the worst thing about it. Mother 3, on the other hand, already had several strikes against it (because it also indulged in the other aspect that breaks stories in my eyes – see above) and the ending merely dealt the finishing blow by pushing it into 6/10 territory.

    While a work can’t really recover from a bad ending, sequels and extensive retconning notwithstanding, the only way the story can recover from taking on misanthropic tones is when it makes it clear that there’s more to it than that. For instance, playing the trope straight, but then demonstrating why being a misanthrope is wrong in spite of humanity’s flaws. Neither The Last of Us nor Mother 3 do this, which is why they ended up with the scores they got. I have played at least one game that does, but I can’t reveal the name, as it would be quite a spoiler.

    My belief regarding conclusions is, “Putting effort into the ending of your story is important. If the ending is bad, your story ceases being good as soon as it concludes. If the ending is great, your story is good forever.”

    Liked by 2 people

    • I was looking forward to hearing your views, as you are one of the few who can actually appreciate something.

      Simply highlighting your views on Mother 3, and System Shock 2 are good enough. As you stated, you don’t consider either one classics as most of the communities praise them to be. That to me shows that you, and Aether look deeper into things than most do, or what others even consider.

      Thank you for the response, I will keep all this in mind as I venture on.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Aether says:

    I come across my old writing occasionally, and it’s kind of a painful experience. I’d like to think I’d gotten better at the craft with time, but even if I haven’t, my perspective and methods of writing have changed, and it causes quite a bit of dissonance when reading back over some of my older stuff. Also, I used to hold some views I now find pretty distasteful, and it’s always a bit cringeworthy when that pops up. A lot of my older stuff was on sites that just don’t exist anymore or aren’t nearly as strongly viewed as they used to be, so much of my work has gotten memory-holed, and a part of me is glad for that. Even so, I think I view my old stuff more negatively than most readers might. It’s hard not to take it a lot more personally, knowing that it came out of me.

    It’s hard to specifically say what works for me in a story, as that’s going to change pretty drastically depending on the tone and complexity of the work, the ability of the author in treating their subject matter, and the overall goals of the story. A few general ideas, though:

    What makes the story for me is well-handled realization. How much complexity is appropriate is going to vary a lot on a case by case basis. Some stories don’t dig into their plot, characters, world, or subjects very much, and that’s just fine. You do need some degree of fleshing them out, however. You may have created a majestic city that floats from country to country on the open sea, but I’m not really interested until I see how that affects the lives of the people living there, how the politics of that city work, what sort of culture that place has, what its economic base is, or something else like that. Likewise, I’ll need to know what your lead character’s personality is like, what drives them to take the actions in the story, and what they think about everything that’s going on before I’ll really start to emphasize with them. Same thing with all the major members of an ensemble cast. How much you go into it really depends on what type of story you’re going for, but I strongly desire having more than just the surface details on all the moving parts. Make them fully-realized, make them seem more real to me, and you’ll almost always get me hooked.

    What breaks a story for me, well, Red Metal handled the bad endings well in his post above. I also tend to get lost when events in the plot start to lose their in-universe justification. If people just show up and screw with the heroes for no other reason than “Muahahahahaha! I am a very bad guy!” Or when conflict starts with no real rising incident or motivation leading up to it. Or when people start talking about how wicked awesome/just plain wicked this one character is when we never see them doing anything to earn it, or the story has to go through some really contrived circumstances for them to do so. Generally, when it starts feeling less like I’m going through a continuous plot and more like I’m just experiencing a series of random, unconnected events is when I start checking out.

    As for what can bring me back to a story that’s lost me… well, I don’t rightly know what can consistently do that. I’ve been drawn back into stories plenty of times, although that usually takes a good bit of time for me to pick them up again, and that’s either when I think my perspective has changed a bit or I’ve been convinced that it gets better later. A bit of a shift in some sort on the story, such a time skip, new lead character, new setting, new rules, can do that for me, as long as they make sense in-universe.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Like Red Metal, you highlight important views, that I was hoping to hear about. As both of you bring a lot of similar ideas to the table, which are great in my view, in of trying to produce, and replicate with other views I already had in mind. Along with a reminder that not everyone looks over everything, as a lot of people tend to do.

      Thank you for this! Great stuff, I will keep in mind as I continue to work on my project.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

