Throwback Gems: WinBack

WinBack

WinBack was developed by Omega Force, and released in 1999 for the Nintendo 64, then 2001 for the PlayStation 2. WinBack in my opinion was a under rated third person shooter game, which was a lot of fun back when I played it.

The story is nothing special, and comes off as normal by today’s standards. Terrorist take control of a laser based  weapon, and you are simply brought in to take care of the problem. That’s just the outline, the deeper you find yourself immersed into the plot, the better it gets. The game takes note, and is influenced by Metal Gear Solid, it may not take you on a journey that is as epic as MGS, but pulls off enough greatness to make it worth it.

The story will end up giving you two endings, depending on certain circumstances. Along with this, you will find yourself running into many different characters, friends and foes. Some of these characters own fates are at your hands depending on what ending you get.

As you sneak your way around the game, best part is the cover system. Which is said to to influence many games that use the mechanic today. I would like to say it was the first game to really use it, but I’m not so certain. It is however one of the first I played to use it at the time I first played it.

While the game is fun, it has a few things holding it back. Aiming takes a while to get used to, and while its not a big problem. The old tactic of being a statue while aiming and not being able to walk is. Plenty of games use this those, it just takes time getting used to. The biggest problem is the camera.

It doesn’t move on its own, and you may find it awkward at times. This if not paying careful attention, will lead you to walking into traps, enemies, or other things that may be waiting for you. The last is backtracking, while the game is lengthy, its only set in a few stages, which makes you look at the same backgrounds.

I can’t say how much I wished that more people would have enjoyed WinBack when it first released. Its one of those few games I will pull out my 64 to play at times. Even being a MGS clone, its well worth it, even more for the players of the N64 who needed a good stealth action game.

About crazysnake513

I'm currently 24, I love video games, and animation. I also love to sketch, and write poetry. I plan to maybe start college soon for animation, if all goes well. In the mean time, I'm working on my own animation project.
This entry was posted in Gaming, Throwback Gems and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Throwback Gems: WinBack

  1. Aether says:

    I never got the chance to play it, but I saw Winback around fairly often, and it looked like a really interesting game to me. I didn’t have a Playstation, so I missed out on everything MGS was doing, and thus Winback’s gameplay seemed a totally new and innovative system that I would have been excited to get into.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I first played the game when I borrowed it from a friend, I had no clue to the exciting adventure that waited. Although, some consider it a MGS clone, imo it stands very well on its own.

      Sad though the sequel bombed, one of the few series I’d like to have seen go on.

      Like

Leave a comment